12.22.2002 || 01h48

two jobs and nothing to show for it...

Well, she's hopefully in Tennessee right now. I know I took her to the downtown terminal and got her safely away, and I haven't heard about any planecrashes or anything, so she's prolly sitting in a rocker on her parents' porch, with a shotgun across her lap right now, sucking back a Coors Light and singing Rocky Top.

Maybe she's even got one of them dang tee-vee things...

It's only five days or so.

It's only five days or so.

It's only five days or so.

**********

Oh yeah, so after all the trouble of changing our plans for last Wednesday night and getting Hudson Girl to get a ticket and everything, we ended up seeing the Two Towers in the cinema *beside* the one in which Fireball Girl and the Literate Barmaid were seeing the same damned movie, even though the plan was to go *with* them. Something about buying our tickets a month after they got their original two tix, I think...

But it ruined their plan, which was to have us save them some seats; the film started at 20h30, but they only got off work at 20h00.

In other words, I got a verbal wrist-slap from Marv (with whom I was supposed to see the new Star Trek flick) for nothing. Coulda stuck to the original plan for the evening. I mean, it's not like I wasn't going to see the Lord of the Rings movie anyway, right?

Nice, eh?

**********

This whole two jobs thing is slightly bite-tacular, in terms of being tired all the time and getting no updates done. I'll try harder on both fronts, Diary Dearest, I promise. I'm also going to take advantage of Mystie's absence by trying to get some more writing done and a few other things that really need doing. Practising fiddle, for instance.

Last night, we went to a party at Best Friend's mother's place. She works in film -- well, in movies, actually. Hollywood stuff. Everyone at the party worked in film or music or publishing or something related. At one point, Mystie, Marv and I were sitting in the living room, pondering a bowl of smoked oysters and listening to an author get cruised by a musician. A friend of the family's came over to where they were sitting, and introduced the musician to a friend of hers who happens to work in music distribution. They shook hands, the industry guy said that he liked the man's music and would be interested in distributing it in the 'states, then they shook again and planned to meet in a couple of days.

It really is all about the schmoozing, isn't it?

Aside from that, we ate some food, had some drink... when we first walked in, a really sweeet young thing with pigtails and deadly eyes flashed me a wicked smile, so I stuck obviously to Mystie. Later, she chatted with us a little. Turns out she's a belly-dancer and stuff, and seems to be more friendly than interested. Whew.

Pretty as a little sin-package, though. I tried to nudge Marv in her direction until he pointed out the wedding-band.

Whups...

Afters, we met Sister and the Slut for drinks and to hear one of my favourite local Celtic bands play -- sort of a farewell thing for Mystie and Marv, I guess. At least, that was the original reason. Somehow, it ended up being a present-swapping thing as well.

Then we went home. I had to be up at 7h30 to go to job #2 this morning.

Then to take Luv to the aeroport.

Then to the pub to get my tips from yesterday (useless. I might as well have skipped work).

I've *got* to get some sleep right now.

Good night, Diary Dearest.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005