12.24.2002 || 01h32

Happy X-mas Eve

Language is a weird thing. On the surface, it's nothing more than sounds and gestures used in communication, tailored to specific areas, but when you add all the other bits that make up the package we call a culture, the language becomes far more fundamental. Just ask any Qu�b�cois or Qu�b�coise, Anglo or Franco. Just ask anyone in Belgium, where language issues have brought down governments more often than I care to count.

I know that I'm twice as likely to tear someone a new arsehole in French than I am in English. It's just a hotter language. It feels more tactile and vibrant. In English, I'm more likely to be quietly pissed or to complain a little. In French, I'm going in for the kill.

I noticed this when I was getting out of a taxi to-day. A car with an older couple in was passing and they were pretty damned close, so the driver blew his horn at me. My first instinct was to slam my middle finger up his arse while yelling ��a suffit, trou d'cul!� Thank the gods I moved straight past to my second instinct, which was to giving him a great big syrupy smile and step right in front of his grille to cross the street.

But the point is that I never have the impulse to give hell in English anymore. I think it's because working in an almost entirely French atmosphere at job #2 is giving me that old trans-linguistic confidence back.

Which reminds me. Job #2 is at a cheesy coffeeshop near the Station Centrale at M�tro Berri UQAM. I work with a Jean-Pierre, a Marie-Claude, a Marie-Claire, and two Marie-Eves; one of whom is attractive to the point of utter silliness. There are some others as well, but all fall into the typical French-Canadian naming model.

I make espressos and clean tables at one job, pour pints and clean tables at the other. Thank the gods I'll be shooting my film in June. I think I'd shoot *myself* if there wasn't a purpose in sight...

**********

Great, One can purchase a Dell Dimension 2350 for the all-time low price of �644, including delivery and VAT. Now, the real question here is, what the *hell* was a British ad insert doing in a Canadian Second Cup?

**********

Hm. Apparently, Washington's saying that if the Canadian government goes ahead with the legalisation of pot in the new year, there'll be long-arsed snarls at the border crossings.

I guess Canada really is a centre for the drug trade or something. Or maybe it's the terrorism rings. I dunno, I'm starting to get the baseless accusations mixed-up. Can anyone help me out, here?

**********

You know, on the day that Mystie left for Tennessee, all the Maple Leafs in town were fluttering at half-mast in honour of His Excellency Ray Hnatyshyn, who'd died the day or so before. I imagined that they were flying that way in mourning for the X-mas I'm going to have to spend away from her instead.

Is that a goofy thought?



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005