08.17.2002 || 14h08

Nice Americans and acting poorly

I had a conversation with the nicest guy yesterday at work. He walked in and looked at the beer taps with a certain aprehension, then gave us a sheepish smile and said 'It's all kinda new to me, what do you suggest?' He is a Floridian who is driving one of the trucks for the Oasis tour, and when his friends found out he was going Northside, they'd told him to make sure to drink a couple of Canadian beers. He'd been warned that his usual three or four beer limit would translate to a two drink limit up here, so he wanted to try two that he'd prolly not find anywhere at home. He drank a Keith's (imported from Nova Scotia) and a Griffon (made in teh godlikle province of Queebec) I was at the sink, wiping the hard alcohol bottles down at checking them for fruit flies, so we chatted about all kinds of stuff. Of course, he smoked a cuban cigar or two. I don't think I've ever seen anyone *not* American order a cigar. Something about them being impossible to get down there.

He said that he was being treated nicer above the boarder than he'd been lead to expect. What I *thought* was 'Dude, how can anyone be mean to *you?*' What I said was 'well, you haven't said any of the things we call 'American statements.' You haven't called our dollars 'funny money' or told me how much better things are Stateside.'

He also has some blisteringly bad things to say about the US and its approach to Cuba and the world.

It has become so clear to me of late that we are more than the sum of our nationalities and that some Americans in particular are becoming aware of their image when travelling, and acting more culturally responsible.

Some little-known things about beer in Canadia:

  • Whereas Guinness Group products (Guinness, Harp, Kilkenny, etc), as well as those from St-Ambroise, Bass, Tartan, Boddingtons, and most European beers come in 50-litre kegs, Labatt and Oland (Keith's India Pale Ale) come in 58.6-litre kegs, which are just heavy enough to make things really rough on me.
  • Americans who want a taste of home will be dismayed to discover that of all those tonnes of trucks leaving the Budweiser plant all day and all night, none of them come north. Budweiser and Bud Light in Canada are brewed by Labatt and Coors Light is brewed by Molson. Apparently, more stringent quality control laws are the reason for this. Me, I dunno...
  • It is possible to serve Keth's to someone who asked for Bleue and not fear any repercussions.
  • Hoegaarden comes in super big-assed glasses. They don't fit the the glass-rack for the dishwasher. I hate them a lot.
  • Bleue pint glasses are ugly as futznuket.
  • Beck's comes in ridiculously flimsy cases.

So, filming on my film acting d�but is almost finished. I wish I was doing a better job on this, but the way it's written makes it hard to get into the character. Some of the sentences were written extremely strangely, and I've been finding it hard to adequately deliver lines that I don't necessarily always understand.

Anyway, I know it's unprofessional as hell to make excuses. I could have put more effort in, I guess. Sorry, sorry...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005