02.07.2002 || 11h19

Hollywood vs. the Canadian Filmmaker

I had forgotten how frustrating it is to write your first draft. Everything is wooden and the dialogue tastes like powder.

Who cares? that's what the second revision's for, just get the damned story out.

Except that I've already *written* those 40 lost pages and can't remember any of it! But then, the film's completely different now, so I couldn't have used those pages anyway. Except that two of the characters are the same, so I could have used those pages to gain insight into those characters for *this* story.

What? Futwick, you *wrote* those characters. Get yer own insight and let dead pages lie.

Hey! A little respect please.

Respect, my arse. You'll never get to Hollywood if you just sit here and whinge.

I don't want to go to Hollywood. In fact, do me a favour and shoot me if I ever suggest packing us up and moving to California.

Bitch, I'll shoot you for not typing in a minute.

In a moment, I was talking!

Fuck you. put your fingers on the keyboard and write.

Okay, but I don't like this character's name

Man, I'm your inner monologue. I don't CARE about crap like that. Second revision, remember? WRITE!!!

Okay, okay, shite...

[tappity tap tap...]

You see how rough it is? What I have to go through? The hell, the hours of thankless labour? And all I see at the end of it is two crossed fingers and the hope of a grant to *produce* this bitch? My life is hell, you hear me? HELL!

Actually, what I'll prolly do is: once my first draft is done, re-do a lot of the dialogue and have someone from my acting class do a read-through and change the dialogue and action where it just sounds too stilted.

Which reminds me: I was cruising on my way to HellCo the other day (I know, but they offered me a two-day contract), when I came across one of the girls from class, who had just been fired ten minutes before. Now the thing is, she was working in a cheesy telemarketing office and had been let go without any notice or two-weeks' money or anything. This girl can Act. REALLY act. Big A, sock-it-to-em, every-character-comes-alive, wish-I-Had-a-huge-production-budget Act. Watching her play is an absolute thrill, and I don't see why, in the acting industry, there isn't more room for those with ability as opposed to all these current interchangeable young actors who are 5'10 and drop-dead vanilla. This girl should be in front of a camera or wowing an audience, not walking down a street and stressing about money because she'd just lost her *telemarketing* job. It doesn't fit.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005