2001-05-20 || 4:13 p.m.

Last show of 2001

Sunday, 20 May 2001 12.15am
What a day. I'm sitting on a porch in some forgotten chunk of the Vermont countryside, scribbling this entry into my scetchbook while the rest of the company dances to 'Staying Alive' inside. We've just finished our last show of 2001 at the Haskell Opera House in Stanstead, Qu�bec/Derby Line, Vermont (the town so nice they named it twice). The opera house straddles the border, so that whereas the stage and rear of the building's in Canada, about two-thirds of the audience and the front door is in the US. At one point, Sister's Ex and I went out to buy a chocolate bar and ended up going through customs twice!

We noticed that whereas the countergirl in the D�panneur has the typical flat Canadian accent, the counter people across the street spoke with the American twang. I was floored by this, as Main Street is the border. There's no reason for such a difference in accents. Maybe these lines we draw on maps aren't as imaginary as we thought...

Good news! The group has asked me to be Stage Manager next year. Of course I said yes. I don't get that kind of acceptance often, I guess. Just over a month ago, I was the new guy; Sister's brother. Now they know my name and are inviting me to parties.

To-night, I'm startled by the stars. There are so many that I felt compelled to count. More even than I ever saw in the night above Vancouver. Montr�al blocks the stars out of her children's sight. Maybe to save us. Seeing stars always gives me an anonymous yearning. A clear desire, but for what, I just don't recognise.

To-morrow, I turn 29.

4.28p
I am exhausted, hung-over like a bitch, but glory be, I'm home. The party got pretty bizarre, by the way. I tried mussels and didn't go into anaphylactic shock, so that settles the allergy question. We did so many body shots that I don't remember off of whom I was licking the salt. I know they were all female, but that's where it ends, the evening is a haze, really, of tequila and music, Sister getting heavy on the dancefloor with the (beautiful) soprano soloist and their respective dates; everyone dancing and kissing everyone they could; and me with two women doing exactly what I haven't done in a long time. Everyman's dream, I guess. I was too drunk to remember most of it now.

...But I'm paying for it to-day. I've decided that I don't like tequila. I can still taste it, hours later and in a different country.

I was so glad to be home when I finally walked in. The cats were waiting for me at the door, just as they always do. I walked in, dropped my stuff, fell to my knees with my arms flung wide and cried 'come to me, boys!' They ran over and covered me with cat hair and the dampness from their noses.

I have also noticed that we have the cable. And a cable modem, too.

And I'm going to ignore it all as soon as this entry's done, and go to bed.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005