2001-04-17 || 7:55 a.m.

dune

but as for me, I saw Dune last night. No, not the cheesy movie from days of yore with Patrick Stewart, but rather the recent miniseries with all the Czech actors and crew. I saw it with about ten other people on Ian's 143" screen. Ian has geek parties sometimes. They seem to be quite popular. They have their own website. Great stuff, except that I always get the feeling that I'm partying with all the people who didn't get invited to the cool parties in high school. Except that monstre was there. Oh yeah: Dune.

I don't care what anyone says, the new Dune is waaay better than the older film. It seems to actually pay *some* sort of attention to things like storylines, plot, and the book off of which it is based. The costume design was (with some *very* notable exceptions) way better, and the sets and models were great. The music was cooler, and the sound was far superior.

And Chani was as beautiful as a wish. That helps. Lots.

I know that the film was trying to show Paul Atreides grow up from a pampered noble to the hardened desert rat known as Muad'Dib, but there were times early on in the film where his whining got to me. I kept expecting him to say 'but I was going to go to bachi station to pick up some power converters!' Shut up Luke.

Anyway, that was my evening from 6 or so 'til midnight. How was yours?

**********

J and I got hungry in the afternoon, so we did our traditional D�panneur run. Instead of the typical doughnut and coke, we each got a piece of fruit and an iced tea. Gotta stop that office spread...

**********

Shite. I'm going to be late for work.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005