03.13.2002 || 12h54

Men with Brooms and lemon cake

I am, right this instant, eating a piece of lemon and poppy-seed cake with a citrus drizzle on. Oh, and drinking a cup of the *decaf* Earl Grey that I accidentally bought.

Hey, census info! Apparently Canada grew again in 2001. Nothing new about that. Didn't grow by much, though. Everyone's afraid that the population will be shrinking within a decade. *That's* new.

I dunno. I think we should offer cut-rate housing in the North for people of a hardy nature, put a buncha adverts in places like Siberia, and pump this whole population thing to the rafters. Who's with me?

So, history's being made this week. A Canadian movie was produced, marketed in the style of Hollywood flicks, and opened in commercial theatres across the Dominion. Yeah, I know: The red Violin. That wasn't really made for our market, though, Men With Brooms is. Anyway, this new experiment with adding a US-style marketing campaign seems to have been a success so far: It made back the marketing money in its first weekend, and has made $800,000 or so the in three days since. I will go see this film this weekend, and so should anyone who possibly can. It looks hilarious, first of all, and the cast is generally pretty good: though I'm not a fan of Leslie Nielsen, Paul Gross and Molly Parker are both able actors.

Anyway, I'll let you know how it was...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005