11.04.2001 || 12h39

Yeah so I voted and stuff...

Well. I went, I voted. There was practically no-one at the polling station. Crap. I bet this means that Bourque will be the first mayor of the Montr�al megacity. What a load of shite. I tell you, if he wins again, I will eat the first member of the Vision Montr�al party I come across this week...

On my way back from the polling station, I stopped to take a couple of shots of a *huge* sign put out by the doomed City of Westmount that reads 'Je me souviendrais les fusions forc�es,' (I will remember the forced mergers), which is a bit of a play on the motto from Qu�bec license plates: 'Je me souviens.' It's also a warning to the party that's in power in the Capital, and that forced this crap on us in the first place.

Sort of made me think a bit. I'm a fairly political person. I come from a city where everone's political, in a province where everyone's political, in a country where everyone's political-- more so than elsewhere, at any rate. The thing is, less people are political now than 10 years ago, when less people were political than 10 years previous. Yet everyone's still got an opinion on where I should go for the best sandwich.

Everyon'e got an opinion on the ridiculous, yet they're too damned disenfranchised to have one on the fundamental. Everyone knows how is the best way to find a job, but no one around here comes out to vote or write their Member of Parliament (I defy someone to naysay this with a straight face; how many Americans actually voted in the last race for the capital? An even smaller percentage than Canadians-- a pox on both our houses!). The rich gobble more resources, the poor sink ower into the quagmire of poverty, the middle class disappears; no one stands up and shouts about it. It's not a mediagenic cause. Work equity is good, it's all about redistributing the wealth, the environment is that big black ghost that no-one wants to deal with because we might have to change our lifestyle, and the one place you do *not* hit a North American is in the lifestyle. I believe that everyone should be paid the same, but who will care when we're dying off after we've finished off the planet because we *have* to drive to work?

To a certain extent, I think that there's almost a Nation of the Woman representing the new jingoism. Everyone's making the same sweeping generalisations about men as they do about women, I see men's complains being debased as being nonsensical the same as women's have been. And I think that we'll never actually *fix *anything. What we *should* be doing is working to create a society where everyone's word is worth something. However, everyone's too in love with their own opinions these days. No one wants to be the first to say 'okay, we need to co-operate in order to really change the world.'

But I think that the smashing of the patriarchy *must* continue; I think that stay-at-home parents should be paid by their spouses' bosses or the government; I think that grading someone's chance at a job or their salary based on gender or colour or sexual practice is an outlandish idea.

And I think that it's all going to mean nothing when the world has been completely sold to logos and corporativism under our noses. I think that it's all going to be yesterday's news when we've killed the last tree to put in a highway because people love their cars and think that carpooling's for sissies.

I see crimes happening every day that are *not* being addressed, and I get angry. Add a few more causes onto your bandwaggons, damn you. All of you.

And all of me.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005