10.17.2001 || 9h52

Stuff and stuff again (with addendum)

In reference to Anonymous Coward's entry in my guestbook yesterday, I don't have to believe the Taleban's propaganda to believe that the US bombed a Red Cross compound in Afghanistan. The Pentagon and the Red Cross have both stated the same damned thing. It seems a pretty shabby thing to do, considering the Red Cross's reply to the destruction of the WTC. I know, I know, Washington didn't know that the Red Cross had any compounds in the area. I just thought that, after bombing the bejeesus out of the Chinese Embassy last time 'round, the US would have done something to instill their military intelligence personnel with a modicum of competence, what with the fact that our side has spy satellites, spy planes, and bombs with video cameras and laser guidance systems; all of which would be able to clearly see a *large red cross* on a roof.

Apparently, I expect too much.

**********

So, this afternoon, the Navy sails to join the stupidity on the other side of the world. Yesterday, Adrienne Clarkson was on the deck of the HMCS Provider, rallying the troops and telling them that, as their commander-in-chief, she knew they were up for the job and alladat. john Ralston Saul didn't go. Dissent within the viceregal family, perhaps? I *know* that Adrienne Clarkson doesn't agree with our boys and girls running off to mess about in Afghanistan, but it's her job as Governor General to back the Prime Minister. John is a different story. he's just the viceregal consort.

I'm also dismayed that the only voice in the House of Commons demanding a UN solution to the Bin Laden problem is the NDP's.

**********

PS: to all involved parties: Though I truly enjoyed the pitched batte raging on my guestbook, I have erased most of the bodybags. Nichs and Verge are two of my favourite Dlanders because they're both brilliant and fiery as hell and never, ever boring.

but I would *hate* to be in a closet with those two once the gloves come off. I think that the only thing more terrifying would be to be locked in that closet with both of them angry at *me*. Don't ever change, either of you.

**********

Just bought my ticket to Vancouver. I'm flying Tango, of all things.

You know what really burns me? If I were to fly Air Canada, I would spend as much on my ticket to Vancouver as I would to go to London or Paris. hence, I'm flying some discount welfare airline to save , at most, $150. Hell, if you're going to be a discount airline and make me transfer in Toronto, shave more off the price, yo.

*********

Addendum

Okay folks. I've eradicated the last of the vitriol from the gbook and put up a message board. Go. Kill one another. Fun stuff.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005