09.14.2001 || 17h35

Friday evening

Well, the boss and his wife had their baby last night after 12 hours of labour. We took up a collection to buy them a little something. It's nice, actually, to see a little hope in the midst of so much crap.

**********

So, Mafiaboy got 8 months in Juvie plus another year of probation. Though I appreciate and cheer that he stuck it to Big Business, I also think he was playing with stuff he didn't fully understand, and he got burnt accordingly. In other words, he deserved what he got. Now, if he'd pulled it off witout being found, that would have shown some scary juju, and *that* I could definitely appreciate. Too many script kiddies passing themselves off as crackers these days.

**********

Got a phonecall this morning from ExLover's grandmaman, wondering if I'd heard from her lately. Seems she ran off to Sainte-Ad�le-des-Monts or something, then dissapeared. Come on, girl. Get your shite together. Everyone worries about you, and I shouldn't be thinking about this now, not when I'm so busy thinking about her every second of every day.

ExLover, if you are anywhere at all right now, go home, get a job, and live a good life. I know you can do it.

**********

While I was at lunch with J, a we heard flight of CF-18s (think of F-18s with meatier engines, better electronics, and less weapons) flew by overhead. Made me think of when I was in cadet Basic training at CFB Bagotville. There's a whole squadron of them there, and we used to love to watch them rocket into the sky at sunset because the flames that shot out the back lit up a strip of sky behind them, and the thunder they left behind made our stomachs shake. From below, they look a bit like barbed harpoon heads.

**********

So, the CTO discovered a problem with the Airport functionality of his iBook, so he called Apple Support. Of course, he *always* discovers the problems that no-one else has thought of yet, so no-one knew what to do. They kept escalating him up the chain right up to the senior product developer at Apple.

unfortunately, the senior developer is observing 48 hours of silence due to the NYC disaster, so whereas he's at his desk and working, he isn't speaking until Sunday.

Gotta be Californian...

**********

So I got my last three Paris rolls back, and I am *so* mad at myself. for one shot, I decided to use spot metering, but i forgot to turn it off again afters, so for the vast majority of my subsequent shots, the camera was spot-metering off the sky. Many washed-out pictures. Much pissed-offedness over here. I think I'll scan some of the good-ish ones and post them over the week-end. Blood and ashes, I forgot about the *spot metering* of all things. Hell-o, first year student error...

**********

Ouch. The FBI's pushing Carnivore again and the US house is thinking of putting in mandatory back doors on current and future crypto standards so that the government can read any encrypted messages. Aside from ensuring that zillions of development groups will have to leave the USA, this also reminds me of a quote that, while not *completely* apropos, is still close enough to be shown here:

"I worry about my child and the Internet all the time, even though she's too young to have logged on yet. Here's what I worry about. I worry that 10 or 15 years from now, she will come to me and say 'Daddy, where were you when they took freedom of the press away from the Internet?'"

-Mike Godwin



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005