2000-11-23 || 8.50a

thursday (payyyyyy-day!0

Okay, this is fahking cool. Nanotech is where it's at. It's da sh*t, younowutimsayin'? I'm talking Diamond Age, here.

**********

I have to say something, here: I remember a convo I had with ford during one of our idyllic visits to Scot's place out in rural Qu�bec. We talked about re-habilitation versus outright punishment, and how the penal system needs fixing. I am in the uncomfortable position of having my left-wing, NDP-voting ideals on this matter swayed towards the right. I don't believe that the Canadian Youth Protection Act and its associated juvie centres are adequate to the nature of the crimes and misdemeanours being perpetrated these days. I think that for acts of a criminal nature, adult prison and adult sentencing is the way to go. I don't buy that crap about a sixteen-year-old not knowing what's right or wrong. Just ask any sixteen-year-old.

And maybe I *am* starting to think that punishment has a place here. I mean, rehabilitation of the perp is a noble ideal, but at the end of the day, a 17-year-old stabbed another 17-year-old in the throat over $30 a little while ago. That warrants some sort of payback. I didn't used to believe this. I'm starting to now, and I'm looking for answers because I'm getting angry.

I also think that a juvenile delinquent's parents should be taken to task, and maybe charges should be brought against them as well. Parents are supposed to play a part in their kids' upbringing, and maybe the increasingly absentee nature of parents' interaction with their kids is what's disenfranchising those kids.

I don't know the answers, I want to hear someone trying, though. Now.

**********

I want to design my own computer case and have a metalworker make it for me. I think I'll put together a Linux or Solaris (for Intel) box and have the case made.

But first, I'll finish paying for my CAMERA!!!!! �-- that's an excited, joyful sound, by the way...

But I also need a new Mac, so maybe I'll keep my priorities straight. At any rate, my 6-year-old machine's starting to peter out oin me, and it scares me a bit. Start saving, cf old boy...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005