09.05.2001 || 10h07

a few small parisian thoughts

So, last night I was asked what my most memorable moments from Paris were. I came up with two, one of which, I guess, is typical, the other less so.

We were walking towards the Chateau des ducs de bretagne in Nantes, not knowing how far down the street it was. We knew it was *there* because the map at the train station showed it as a big orange blot, but that was about it. It was a major street with many gorgeous little French cars zipping along it, and it curved and had about a bajoolian trees alongside. we rounded a final curve, after which the street swept into a long, straight avenue, and on one side was the first real, bonafide *castle* I'd ever seen. Fluttering atop the rampart was the pennant of the dukes of Brittany, and down below was a rancid moat, just like in stories and legends and all the stuff where castles exist.

The Castle of the Dukes of Brittany was the seat of power in the Duchy before the Duchess Anne united the crowns of Brittany and France and became Queen Anne in the late 15th century (I think).

Nantes is apparently no longer officially part of Brittany, though Nantes had been the capital. I wonder how the hell *that* happened.

The other moment is somewhate different, I guess. I was siiting on a park bench on the Ile de la Cit� next to the Pont Neuf, Laura lying asleep on my lap, watching some sparrows bug a pidgeon and a yoga class perform some rather comical stretches. Laura and I had been slowly getting tired of Paris, i think, and the hour or so of contented relaxation next to a 400-year-old bridge sort of softened it a bit for me. Sitting there, the best girl about snoozing across my legs and nothing exciting going on around, I actually liked Paris.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005