2001-06-30 || 11:02 a.m.

Strange brew

Hm. I think that this disturbs me a little bit. not because it's bad or has any sort of bad message. Quite the opposite, in fact. I'm just becoming slightly wary of the fact that it seems we are increasingly being given our sence of patriotism (such as it exists) via a series of super cool Molson Canadian adverts. It seems too commerical or something, I guess. A love of one's country should have nothing to do with the size of its armed forces or its policing campaigns, true, but nor should it really be summed up by the strength of its beer or the quality of its strip bars. In a lot of ways, I think we get it right. We're not afraid to make fun of ourselves, and we are *finally* starting to admit that we've got some good musicians, but why is it that I'm starting to feel unpatriotic because I order a Guinness without fail at the pub while the jocks and their pisseuses at the next table order bottles of Molson or Labatt?

Fer chrissakes, it's *beer,* guys...

PS: To-morrow is Canada day. We will attend a lacklustre parade because we'll be in Montr�al instead of Ottawa, then march towards the Old Port, where we will watch Catherine Durand and Nelly Furtado play, like, music and stuff...

Happy Canuckland day, kids. Yes, even youz below the border. I'm just nice like that.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005