2000-12-06 || 8.30a

Massacre stuff

11 years ago to-day, 14 female students at the �cole Polytechnique died before a misogynist madman's gun. One of those young women had gone to the same high-school as me a loittle earlier in our lives.

We weren't friends, we didn't even know each other. She was on the French side , while I was on the smaller English side. The two sides didn't mix too much, really-- different classes, different teachers too, sometimes. In other words, she and I ran with different crowds. I was not one of those typical kids who shouted 'why?' at the news, or claimed to have known her well; I didn't need the extra tragedy, I didn't need to make-believe more hardship into my already serrated life.

I still don't think of her, 11 years later, as a special face among her 13 dead peers.

And the same characteristic in me that makes me cringe before christianity and its tacit approval of the women-as-chattel model of social evolution also prevents me from letting the obvious gender-oriented nature of that crime overshadow the biggest, baddest fact: 14 people died at school that day.

Because to me, Valery Fabrikant's professor-killing spree at Concordia University (cf and ford's alma mater) was also tragic, albeit without the added misogyny that coloured the Polytechnique massacre.

And the fact that both of Canada's big-ticket massacres happened at Montr�al universities tells me that perhaps university students in Qu�bec should get danger pay.

*********

PS Smokings bad for you. Just ask Christy Turlington. The poor dear's got emphysema. I dunno, the thought of a paragon of grace pulling mucous out of her throat gives me a delicious sense of irony...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005