2000-06-19 || 14:19:47

Celtic Fest

I finally got to see Mary Jane Lamond live.

After years of hearing her on the CBC and sparring with her wit over the Lamond christmas turkey, after almost as long asking Best Friend when she was going to play in Montr�al, I finally got to see her sing live. Huzzah !

Hiding out from the psychotic babble and hullaballoo of the fahking Grand Prix by running to the Celtic Festival, I Walked, then staggered a bit over the grounds of the Douglas Hospital for the insane, a Guinnes in one hand, Lover's palm in the other, Sister and Maman around. I passed a beautiful woman who didn't so much walk across the grass as float. She wasn't my style, but I knew whose style she'd be. Speak of the devil, and a second later, my 'phone rang. It was Monstre telling me to keep an eye out.

But what a day. I hadn't been to a festival since the Mission Folk Fest way back when I was still an Air Cadet and my father was still a carpenter. There was a Breton band (two bagpipes and four bombardes) buzzing up a storm next to the Ye Olde Orchard pavillion, where we could drink whatever we wanted, so long as it was Guinness, Keith's, or water. The Swerve played next, and I finally got to see Ciar�n's children, one clasping his mother's shoulder and wetting his diaper, the other watching her father sing ontstage, hopping from foot to foot and aching to climb up to him.

Later, While another Breton band blew the hats off of the crowd from the main stage, Best Friend sauntered over with his 'Artist' badge on, and said 'come and say hi to Mary Jane.

Which I am always glad to do.

She's so much smaller than I remembered. I guess when someone commands such attention without even seeming to try, they tend to seem so much larger...

She put on a kick-arse show, complete with a guest appearance by Ashley MacIsaac (Cape Breton's most crass and foul-mouthed export), before taking her bow, and leaving the stage to him.

Maman had a fine time, as did Sister. I met so many people I knew that it felt like I spent the whole day shaking hands or kissing cheeks.

Monstre, I too danced a retarded little jig on the grounds of Montr�al's biggest sanatoruim. Rock on, buddy, rock on.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005