02.15.2005 || 09h31

work, bass stuff and the Giant Mine

Marv's in the shower, the other roomie's probably at work, and I'm sitting at the table in the kitchen, waiting for the water to boil. I have worked every one of the last 10,000,000 days, and I'm about ready for a break, I think. But you know what? I finally like my job again. It's taken a lot of work, but we've finally got a great team together, and (miracle of miracles) the manager with whom I had so many problems and I have found a way to work together.

It might also be that my head's a little cooler than it has been in a long time. I dunno.

Oh, by the way, to-day's the 40th birthday of the Maple Leaf. when Her majesty Queen Elizabeth II proclaimed that the new flag would be hoisted over Parliament on 15 February 1965, it was the culmination of a stop-and-start process that had really begun in 1925. Anyway, when it was first hoisted, pretty much everyone hated the damned thing, though in hindsight, I'm glad we got the one we did -- some of the other designs were hella bad.

Turns out that my new bass will take another 6 weeks to arrive. Apparently, the fact that it's a new model means that they ain't doing such an awesome job of keeping up with orders.. But hey, if I want to throw another $1000 at the store, I can have the Stingray 5 that's hanging on the wall.

It's beautiful as hell and has way better mids than the SUB, but I guess I'll wait.

On the Ceeb, they're interviewing some of the widows of the miners who were murdered at the Giant Mine 12 years ago. The stories they're telling about their experiences in Yellowknife are harrowing, to say the least. It kind of gives me pause to think about how big that strike was, how ugly and violent it was, and how 9 men were killed in a blast just because they were working when other men were striking. They didn't think they were symbols of anything, and what always gets lost in the shadow of the big issues is the fact that they were men with families. We forget about that stuff so often because we need everything to be a symbol, but really, what fucking use is a symbol?



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005