10.24.2003 || 14h03

-

Still sick. Better be better by next week. We're supposed to be recording a demo CD.

Yesterday I had a couple of hours to kill between Meeting Mystie for lunch and meeting her for the David Usher concert. I usually try to fill my free time with work because I've got so damned much to do, but yesterday I decided to actually watch a movie for once. So I went to Movieland and rented Irreversible.

Which was, uhm, hard to watch. The movie wasn't bad, necessarily, and in fact it was pretty neat how Noe put it together backwards, but there are two scenes in it that I could see causing a lot of controversy.

I was expecting *something* rough, because the film had a *Canadian* R rating, which you've gotta work pretty hard to get (Hell, it was even listed as 18+ in Qu�bec, fer gossakes).

I see what the controversy was about, even though I understand where Noe's coming from. I mean, if you're going to write a rape scene or a fight scene into something, don't back away from it. You can't, because if you do, you're Hollywood. Hence the 9-minute rape scene, hence the graphic scene of one guy bashing another's head in with a fire extinguisher. I respect that he's throwing it in my face because he's tired of having that shite glossed over in film, but that didn't make it any easier to watch.

I think that more directors need to take this tack, though. I mean, if telling a story with a lot of violence in it means you have to stop glorifying it, would Hollywood be such a pile of shite? Or would they have to find at least *one* equation that doesn't end up solved with a gun?

I know, No�'s not part of Hollywood, so he's got more freedom. I've heard it all and I believe it all. I'm just thinking that some of that stuff should be transported to the US-of-A as a way of kicking it back into a good industry. It's been there. Twice.

So yeah, we went to see David Usher last night. The man's every bit as gawky and kinda awkward as I'd thought he'd be. It works on him because it was clear that he was having a great time and that he loves his audience. He had the lovely Kim Bingham playing rhythm guitar and singing, which I'd been wondering about. It's been a decade since I last saw her onstage -- at that point singing for Montr�al ska band Me Mom & Morgentaler. She lives in Toronto now as well.

Anyway, the show was really good and the sound was good and the opening bands were good.

There are currently two boneheads installing a fan in my bathroom. It's taken them two days, and they started clicking breakers without even telling me, and blew our router. Nice, eh? I think I'd better call the landlady...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005