07.21.2003 || 12h46

Movies and Arabic

Hm, So I guess there's going to be a sequel to Resident Evil, seeing as it's starting production in Toronto on the 11 August. I hope it doesn't suck.

Okay, so here's a run-down of some of the recent Hollywood movies produced in Montr�al:

  • Gothika;
  • Beyond Borders;
  • Confessions of a Dangerous Mind;
  • The Heist;
  • The Score;
  • The Sum of All Fears;
  • Abandon;
  • $windle;
  • The Adventures of Pluto Nash;
  • City of Ghosts;
  • FearDotCom;
I mean, there are more, but you get the idea. So, the question is, howcome I'm not getting so much extra work? I mean, aside from the fact that I'm busy directing a play, starting production [fingers crossed] on a film, working, submitting writings to litmags, and keeping up a relationship with a girlfriend? Oh wait, I think I see...

Which reminds me: the peeps at ConU told me to buy the books now and read up on Arabic writing before starting the class in fall, because they want everyone in class to have a basic familiarity with the alphabet. I can't afford the books for a couple more days, so I found an on-line resource and have been looking over the writing during my breaks at work, &c. It's not really the easiest script in the world to learn, mostly because of the fact that 22 of the basic alphabet's 28 letters come in 4 variants, depending on where in the word they fall. So, whereas I can find a standalone T� or W�w, I have a harder time recognising a T� that falls somewhere in the middle of a bunch of squiggles. Oh, and Waw is a letter that breaks the flow of a word, so it only has two variants instead of four.

You see where I'm going with this?

It's key, here, to think of Arabic as a script with only a cursive version.

I also tried to write out a few things, eh? I suck. It'll come with practice, I know, but it's so weird to see what looks like very elementary squiggles, and be absolutely unable to get the proper dimensions right.

Gr.

I can't wait for fucking conjugations.

Anyway, I'm off to study (been along time since I've said *that*).



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005