07.14.2003 || 01:56

So, if a Canadian gets murdered in Persia...

I was kinda saddened to wake up to the news that Zahra Kazemi has died. I guess I'd chosen to believe the coma story rather than that she was brain-dead because it allowed me to believe that she'd one day wake up and tell us all what really happened.

After having been arrested and beaten as a spy. I guess I was being na�ve. I'm still a little sad, though. And actually pretty steamed. I guess things don't work out the way I want them to sometimes, but I was always under the impression that the first step after arresting a foreign national on your soil should be to contact their embassy or consulate, not beat them into a coma.

It's also kinda shocking because Canadians don't tend to feel that travelling might involve wasting away in a persian prison, let alone being tortured and interrogated. We blithely sew Maple Leafs to our bags because we're led to believe that being mistaken for Americans might result in being lynched, and leave it at that. Maybe Canada's image is changing now that we're under the US thumb instead of the British one, maybe the fact that Canadians did so much of the killing in Afghanistan has helped tarnish our reputation somewhat.

Maybe kazemi was taking pictures of that prison for a photo journal about Iranian brutality, and they grabbed an excuse to keep the dirty laundry under wraps.

Buy hey, at the end of the day, there's a family somewhere in Montr�al that's asking way harder questions right now, and maybe thinking about some payback.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005