12.06.2002 || 11h44

Some news, some opinions, a waste of time

So, to-day is the 85th anniversary of the Halifax Explosion. Happy anniversary. War is hell. Fiery, deadly hell.

It's also the anniversary of the Polytechnique massacre. I guess school can be hell as well. On a day like this, there's a lot of talk about ending violence against women. Good talk, I suppose, though I think that it's a bloody waste to single out one element of society for protection, especially as there's an underlying problem that must be solved before any one group can be saved: we live in a violent society. What can we do about that? How can we save women or children or blacks or left-handes people if we can't stop the basic violent tendencies we see everywhere we look?

I used to march for womens' rights, I used to talk about violence against women as a single, isolated problem, much the way a lot of people are doing now. I stopped screaming for women's rights when a few incidents got thrown in my face by those who I thought were smarter. I still believe; I just know that every fight comes with a healthy dose of hypocrisy, so I choose my fights more carefully now.

Oh, according to the CBC, some US scientists have backed me up. Reversing findings from the 1970s, they've stated unequivocally that eating chocolate and junk and fatty foods like fries and stuff actually *does* cause acne.

Christ! I'm going to be late for work. Later, skater.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005