12.03.2002 || 19h57

Xanthippe

So to-day, I got to work at 11h00, which is an hour early (as usual), only to find that Stringbean wasn't in yet. It naturally fell on me to set up the bar, clean the tables, count the cash, and other sundry tasks that the bartender or barmaid is supposed to do, starting at about 10h30.

now, I go in an hour early every day because I'm in the throes of WRITING these days, and I find it impossible to get anything done at home in the mornings, because my house is always jumping with people showering, eating and drinking their morning food, yapping, and basically rushing about.

So, going in to work early to set up the bar for a fricking 2% tip-out is just not on my list of stuff to look forward to (hell, I have a hard time doing my *usual* stuff for the tips I get). Oh, *especially* as Stringbean walked in just before the first customers of the day, so I didn't even get one tip as a bartender. Bitter much? Um, yes, actually...

**********

Um, Apparently, Xanthippe was a necrotic bitch who used to hunt down Socrates where he was talking with friends in the marketplace, and berate him for never being home and for their poverty. Now my question is this: since free women in Athens never set foot outside their homes if they could avoid it, did Xanthippe have so little pride that she didn't mind showing the city that they were too poor to have even one servant? Was she so damned angry that she just didn't care? Hell, is there really any question as to why Socrates spent as much time as possible out of the house?

And, of course, since everything we read about Xan and her Man comes from fairly unreliable sources (Xenophon's Memories of Socrates, for instance), how do we know this to be true?

Oh, and why am I even thinking about this useless crap? This is the sort of musing better suited to my philosophically-minded girlfriend.

Oh well. Nevermind.

**********

So, I've now been berated by more than one friend over my choice to cancel my cellphone instead of just opting out of the land line at home, especially as the difference that each roommate would have to pay is remarkably small. Apparently, the fact that I now have to give out my home number to allll those people who've known only my cell number for the past 5 years is going to equal a few potential clients down the tubes, seeing as there's no way in *hell* I'm going to be able to remember to tell everyone about the number change. The latest quote is 'Your Fido's not optional anymore, dude. There are lots of people who'll lose touch with you this way.'

I quickly explained that I didn't actually *cancel* my account, just made it dormant. If I decide that the situation just isn't working, I'm going to re-activate my cell and tell the roomies that I'm out of the landline completely, and damn the consequences.

Okay, enough of this. I have a website to finish...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005