12.02.2002 || 11h40

What a fricking day

Last night I got invited out for a pint with Literate Barmaid and Stringbean. I had already said my good-nights with Mystie and begged off of doing lines with Hudson Girl due to the weather, but I didn't want to get into anything even remotely resembling a music convo with the Soprano and Marv, so I decided to go out.

In all fairness, they were watching a movie, so it wouldn't have been a danger, but I'd already missed the beginning of the film anyway.

The Soprano comes over to watch Enterprise on Sundays, by the way. We watch, then we usually watch whatever else is on afters, until she decides to go home at 23h00 or 00h00. Last night, I was feeling really frustrated and jittery because I can't find the power adapter for my doomBook, and I can't afford the $114.-- for a new one: I was in a Bad Mood. Fuck, I still am. I prolly won't be out of it until I find my fricking power adapter.

More than just the cash involved, actually; losing shite is one of my pet peeves. Not being able to find something that I know I put down somewhere frustrates me almost to spitting.

So I went out. I should have gone to Hudson Girl's after all. But no, I went to work to get LB and Stringbean.

Stringbean had been drinking since about 16h00, and was, in a word, pissed. I spent the next couple of hours sitting there, listening to him insult Fireball Girl (who was working behind the bar), then argue with Literate Barmaid after we'd managed to get him out of work and over to Hurley's. Finally, I got up, said 'buh-bye,' and walked.

My time is precious to me, and I hate wasting it. I'm angry that LB let me waste time by walking over there last night. I'm going to tell her that next time someone we're going to have drinks with is that drunk, she should just call me and tell me to stay home. I could have found something to do right here in the comfort of my own home.

Oh, and I had earlier had yet another 'does your girlfriend hate us?' conversation, pertaining to a supper we'd gone to the night before. I'm getting tired of saying 'no, she's just not so big on the whole social graces thing. She didn't mean anything by it.' I've not got one roommate and several friends who are utterly flabbergasted by her habit of ignoring someone who's standing or sitting right next to her. However, the supper that we went to does come with a built-in mitigating circumstance: for a chunk of the evening, most of the conversations around us were fairly in-joke-related. Can't hold it against the poor dear in that case.

Oh well, knowing that the unfortunate girl doesn't really have a choice but to be better at the whole social thing (because I've already been through that whole 'my friends and girlfriend don't mix' situation, and it's an excellent way to kill both your relationship *and* several friendships), I threw up my hands and said 'Look [friend], you've spent your entire life being taught how to be a social artist. the women in your family are all groomed to put on cocktail parties for their husbands' co-workers and to pull chit-chat out of every situation. I got *my* shyness kicked out of me in basic training. Mystie is the second-favourite daughter in a family with two children. What does one do with that?' I would have also liked to say that Mystie's got more important things to deal with right now, but I would have been rightly accused of making excuses.

All I know is that I'm tired. But I used to be her in exactly that way. Thank the gods I spent my adolescence in an air-cadet uniform. We weren't given a choice.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005