11.15.2002 || 01:50

Gods, such sad news.

I got terrible, terrible news to-day. This morning, my favourite pub closed for good. Apparently, it had been pretty touch and go for the last three years, and the back taxes or something finally did them in. They'd paid off the rent, and their last act was to pay off their employees so that none of them got screwed.

I have so many memories tied up in that pub. It was the first place to which I took Mystie when she arrived in Montr�al that first time. That was where I sang 'Black Velvet Band' onstage for ExLover, then later (by several months) learned to play darts after ExLover and I parted ways. Agh, so many things happened in there. Monstre's get together, the one where she handed out all those silly little Eiffel Towers; many drinks with te Soprano when she was still crying over Sister... The list goes on. My favourite waitress and bartender worked there. One of the waitresses where I work met her husband at O'Donnell's. We went to Brutopia after work for a pint to-day because we were mondo depressed. It's hard when an important place disappears like this.

That's only half the reason that I'm so lumpy-throated about O'Donnell's closing to-day. The other side is that the two guys who ran the pub had mortgaged their houses to open the place. Such a nice couple of Guys from the Pointe, they deserved success.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005