10.26.2002 || 10h43

Housebound Saturday

So last night hudson Girl and I saw a sort of spoken-word, poetry, dance, film, other stuff evening in an old factory building on Sherbrooke Street. It was, in a word, phenomenal. Most of it was in French, of course, and I think that, aside from the two people who were presenting in English, Hudson Girl and I were the only Anglos there. The evening made me think of something, actually: it's amazing how different the English and French underground arts scenes actually are. The Anglo scene is neat, sure, but there doesn't seem to be the same stringless courage that marks the French scene. Hudson Girl also pointed out something with which I've come to agree. She said that it certainly seems like the most creative stuff is coming from people who are 40-plus. At first, I didn't quite see why that would be, because I was sort of thinking along the clich�d lines of 'Well, the young haven't been indoctrinated enough yet, so they must be freer.' Wrong. One look at the state of Fine Arts in schools and this stance doesn't hold up to scrutiny. It seems like artist around my age are *talking* about breaking free of the lines drawn by the arts industry, then pumping out more merely derivative works. The older people we saw perform last night seemed to have developed into their craft, through all the usual younger phases -- sort of like they were the stages of an artistic rite of passage through which one must go in order to have a truly original thought.

Generalisation, yes. Me care, no.

Mystie seemed to enjoy the play that she and the Origamist saw last night. She spoke about it at great length. Sounds like a show I'd like to see at some point.

Heh, I got home to find the house grappling with yet another power outage. I'm getting tired of this in a big way. Well, maybe not -- since there was no power and it was only Mystie and me at home, we felt that perhaps just going to bed was the best course of action... To-day, I'd like to sort of go out, but it's pissing out, I've got a tonne of stuff to do, and Mystie's got a lot of studying through which to wade, so I guess we're both house-bound to-day.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005