10.04.2002 || 19h01

some idle thoughts and a mystified question

I don't know if the Moosehead guys and Alex Keith's boys are fighting a custody battle over the pub where I work or what, but with all the mirrors, posters, wall-hangings, coasters and table tents they've been leaving, the place is starting to look like a wildlife preserve. Someone remarked about all the moose heads and deer's heads about the place to-day. I replied that it was a good Canadian motif: Wildlife and beer.

**********

At work to-day, I met an Akita that had recently been working as a search and rescue dog in Kosovo. She belonged to a Proven�ale man who was working for the French consulate here in town, but who did all sorts of consulting work in hotspots. I think he mentioned being military or something, but I'm not sure. The Dog was great, though: She'd been mostly deafened by a shot in Kosovo, so you really had to shout to get her attention, but she was friendly and smart.

The only other Akita I've ever known belonged to Mystie's ex-landlady in the Bronx. That one was dumb as paste, which does nothing to shake my conviction that animals really do come to resemble their owners.

**********

So, a 30-something man in Ste-Ther�se talked his way into a 20-year-old C�gep student's appartment, raped and choked her, dragged her onto her own bed, then set the mattress alight and left her for dead. He didn't quite do the trick, as the fire alarm roused her enough that she could run out and cry for help.

Excuse me, but *what?*

Christ, whatever you do, wherever you are, if someone wants to harm you, they're going to do it. And I just don't get it. I mean, it's amazing how reading these stories affects me. I'm completely mystified and heartbroken by the evil that we see happening around us sometimes. And someone's *home* is supposed to be where they feel safe and free to unwind. Someone's association of home and safety has been brutally and possibly permanently shattered.

And I just can't understand why.

Gods, someone please stop this. Please stop all of this. People are hurting.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005