09.30.2002 || 23h47

Acting Class bitchitude...

So, class blew goats to-night. Not only was everyone totally off, but I had to do a scene that I just want out of. There's this woman with whom I have to do the scene... Actually, I walk onstage halfway through. I'm playing Stanley Kowalsky and she's Blanche. Stella runs into the 'bathroom' (Offstage left) and I enter from Stage Right. I loathe the scene because I know that she doesn't want to do it with me because I'm just too sexy for her. Actually, it prolly has more to do with the fact that she's a necrotic bitch, but that's kinda where I want to go with this, so I won't spoil it.

Anyway, she's been nothing but short with me all semester, curt and intolerant of the fact that I find her intimidating to act with. I do. She doesn't have any of that typical WASP retardation pertaining to being touched onstage, and she's got a helluva lot of presence. That doesn't always translate into good acting, of course, but I never said she rocked.

Anyway, to-night, she escalated the attack on poor cf in a way that surprised me and enraged Hudson Girl when I mentioned it later.

Before I go any further, let me explain something to anyone out there who is not of the thespian persuasion: One does *not* fuck with an actor who is getting into character. Period. It's what is known as a 'No-no.'

Anyway, 'Stella' and 'Blanche' are meeting onstage and going through the scene just before 'Stanley' enters the house. I'm sitting on the arm of a couch just off of Stage Right with my head down, centring myself and getting into character. There's a part where Blanch goes to the door and looks out, then goes back inside to insult her sister a bit. So, Bitch Goddess comes up to the door, and without even pausing in her lines, leans over to me and snaps her fingers about a centimetre from my nose, nicely popping me right back out of character from the shock of it. Of course, I didn't have time to get back in before I had to walk onstage...

She's as beautiful as the sun, and as evil as they come.

Hudson Girl and I went for food after class to discuss the treatment of our film. I brought Bitch Goddess and her crap up because I'm utterly mystified as to why Bitch Goddess keeps going after me. I have never been anything other than nice with her. Hudson Girl hates her, as does the Catty Girl with whom I trade notes every time certain 'actors' take the stage. After to-night, Hudson Girl said that there's no way Bitch Goddess is gracing our movie with her face, even though I had written a small part specifically for her. I agree with Hudson Girl; no actor is irreplaceable, and Hudson girl had a good point when she said that Bitch Goddess might spend more energy making sure she looks gorgeous onscreen than she would being sensitive to the character...

Oh: I actually got *paid* for directing the play we put on this week-end. Small small small amounts, but it's still a professional direction gig that I can bitchslap into my CV, so I'm happy.

At least there was *something* to be happy for...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005