08.28.2002 || 10h02

Hard work, cars, and the DVD drive redux

Wow, yesterday was an extra special day at work for me. I got to heave about a metric tonne of beer kegs around, heave allll the empty ones into organised stacks that are easily half again as tall as I am, sweep, mop, and re-stock the entire beer cooler (the largest in the city, BTW), and organise alllll the cases of empty bottles. Now, we've just gone through the Molson Indy *and* a golf tournament, so the sheer number of empties and new kegs/cases is, um, dizzying. All the damned stacks of everything were way taller than me. My back and shoulders hurt. lots.

Oh well, welcome to working life, eh?

Also, yesterday GM closed the GM plant in Boisbriand. At the same time, GM ended production of the Camaro (as 100% of all Camaros had been built there for the past few years). As far as the Camaro goes, I say good riddance. However, there are over a thousand people out of work in Boisbriand, and that sux a lot. One muscle car down, about a zillion to go...

Now, if we could start seeing more of these around, or these, these, or *especially* these... Yeah, I'd consider getting a car. Otherwise, I'd be just *another* white, middle-class environmentalist whose beliefs live at the mercy of convenience. Heh, considering some of the prices for these machines, it's a bloody good thing I live in a city where cars are less convenient than the bus...

**********

Hm. It seems my DVD drive has resurrected itself. I guess it heard me decide to get a new computer bag, so it can slack off the pressure or something. That reminds me of something a good friend said to be back in university. He said he didn't want to buy a Mac because he didn't want his computer to be sentient. He wanted it to be a tool and nothing more, so he was buying a Windows machine. Every now and again, I wonder which of us was the smarter one...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005