08.20.2002 || 00h55

Acting class stoof

Luv bought me a Japanese cookbook and a book on independent filmmaking called 'How to Shoot a Feature Film for Under $10,000 And Not Go to Jail.' the film book is pretty informative in terms of low-budget film techniques that are portable to the Canadian indie scene, which is nice. It's also a hilarious book: While I was waiting for my scene at the film set on Sunday night/Monday morning, a passage made me laugh out loud. Turns out, they heard me inside where they were trying to shoot, and it blew a take. Oups ;-).

Anyway, I have gleaned several very neat bits of info from the book, especially pertaining to dealing with talent. It's a great read and I heartily suggest it to anyone who might be looking for a good book on low-budget filmmaking.

So, class to-night was a lot of fun, just because everyone had good energy and wanted to work. I have trouble with the accents involved in doing this play, but that should all the ironed out pretty soon... I hope. Damn, the whole play is about sexual tension, but we're all too damned nervous or uncomfortable or just unfamiliar with our lines as yet to really get into the roles. The main exception is the Mexican girl with whom I have a scene early on in the play. Dammit, she was off-script a couple of weeks ago. Where she gets the time to memorise her lines, what with two kids (one of which is 4 months old) and a husband is beyond me. Anyway, she's charging into her part like no to-morrow and making the rest of us look like slackers. Heh, all the more reason to step up the work, I guess...

Man, I was *ravenous* during class because I was an idiot who'd forgotten to eat to-night. All they had at school was a bag of chips, so I went without. I am currently munching on bread and brie and an organic cookie (the snack for thinking junkfood addicts).

After class, I discovered that I had no busfare, so I snagged a ride home with that dazzlingly beautiful little brunette I'd mentioned here a while ago, the one with the clear skin who can really act and who did her scene with Hudson Girl in the last course (and no, I *don't* want her for myself, you buncha dirty freaks). We chatted a bit and I told her that I'd felt let down by her performance at the end of that course, because she was good. Damned good. Her lack of focus at the showcase had disappointed me bitterly, especially because she'd given a phenomenal performance in an earlier rehearsal.

We yakked a bit about Hudson Girl, Producer, the film upon which we're working, Luv, and acting; then I came in and worked a bit on a short story to which Luv had suggested a few changes. I was dismayed to discover that Luv had called while I was out. I try not to call her place after 22h00, because that would wake up people who actually have to work on the morrow, yet class runs from 19h00 til 22h00...

And now, I am tired ang going to bed. Alone; Luv is snuzzling with Canelle the cutie-cat in her own bed to-night. *Sigh* ;-)



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005