08.09.2002 || 20:50

Vid�otron's a bunch of MOngoloids, I tell you...

10h00 6th August
Gr. Cable's down. Apparently, it went down halfway through Star Trek last night. Best Friend called Vid�otron and got a message that they'd had some sort of catastrophic failure somewhere, and that everything would be back up by 2h30. It's now 10h00, and still no internet access or TV. Good fucking morning. Obviously, this update will be put up way later than it's being written, especially as the story seems to be that some smart yammer at Vid�otron knocked down the freaking service by cutting up the fibre-optic and incinerating a truck after contract negotiations broke down. The gods themselves don't know when this is going to be sorted out, so there may be several days' worth of update here when I finally get it online...

And now for some lists pertaining to female actors, as per the conversation while Hudson Girl and I ran all over town before acting class to-day:

List 1: Trailer-trash chicks (there's a gun-rack *somewhere* in the family)
�Angelina Jolie
�Julia Roberts
�Julette Lewis
�Goldie Hawn
�Rose McGowan
�Pamela Anderson Lee
�Madonna
�Sharon Stone
�J.Lo
�Rebecca DeMornay
�Nicole Kidman
�Elizabeth Hurley
�Britney Spears
�Mariah Carey
�P *and* R Arquette
�Soleil Moon Fry
�Heather Graham
�Heather Locklear
�Vanessa Paradis.

List 2: Suburban Useless
Alicia Silverstone
�Drew Barrymore
�Katie Holmes
�Sarah Michelle Gellar
�Reese Witherspoon
�Natalie Portman
�Julia Stiles
�Neve Campbell
�Jennifer Love Hewitt
�Charisma Carpenter
�Vitamin C
�Sarah Jessica Parker
�Cameron Diaz
�Jennifer Ansiton
�courtney Cox
�Lisa Kudrow
�Mirna Sorvino
�Martha Stewart.

List 3: The ones we kinda like
�Emma Thompson
�Kate Blanchet
�Susan Sarandon
�Judi Dench
�Juliette Binoche
�Franka Potente
�Jodie Foster
�Joan Cusak
�Julianne Moore
�Milla Jovovitch
�Sarah Polley
�Molly Parker
�Jessica Par�
�Kate Winslet
�Robin Tunney
�Liv Tyler
�Mary Walsh
�Mary Stuart Masterson
�Jennifer Connely
�Angela Basset
�Meg Ryan
�Minnie Driver
�Talia Shire
�Carrie Ann Moss.

**********

Well, the weather seems to have finally let up somewhat. That's cool; it means I won't be driven to kicking small animals to vent my utter pissitude.

**********

Dude, class last night was about as much fun as getting a root canal without any drugs. Honest. We we blocking our scenes. I hate blocking with a passion. Bright side: blocking with the society was waaaaay worse.

Anyway, blocking's almost over, thank the gods. I should really be memorising, though. I've got lines for my four scenes in class, lines or the film, *and* I've finally received the script for the play I'm in on the 24th. Man, I wish I was being paid for some of this...

**********

01h10 7th August
Well, we just got in from seeing Minority Report. Lots of neat ideas sadly handicapped by Spielberg's lousy filmmaking. Anyway, I enjoyed it and Luv seemed to like it as well.

Speaking of films, later on to-day (like 19h00), we're meeting up with Producer and the Origamist to work out a few dialogue glitches by reading the script aloud and marking down anything that doesn't ring true. I hope this works...

**********

8h38
Hmph. Still no net access or TV. We'd better be getting a discount on our services this month... Oh well, at least I'm not alone; apparently, I'm one of 750,000 households still without inet or cable TV. The Origamist's access came up last night, but I guess he's in a higher-priority area.

**********

01h15 8th August
Ugh, a bit depressed. Had the meeting with Producer, and he just doesn't get what we're working on. But the thing is, we're not working on anything all that bizarre. I'm tired. I'm run down, and I'm getting shorter and shorter with him every meeting. Next week, we're showing him the revised script and saying 'sign on or not. This is the script.'

Oh yeah, still no access, of course. Everytime Vid�otron repairs a fricking cable, the disgruntled 5-year-olds who work there cut another.

Um, I finally got some hours at work. I'm working to-day and Friday. I'm not working on tables, though: the pub has just taken delivery of some kitchen equipment and stuff, and they want it cleaned up and the upstairs storage area organised. I think I'll be getting pretty messy to-day...

**********

09h17 9th August
Well, Vid�otron's offered a $50,000 reward for anyone informing on the idiots cutting the wires. Hey, I know who it is; it's your fricking mongoloid workers, now gimmie my $50,000!

The thing is, I believe in the union movement, or at least in theory I do. Unions grew out of a need to protect workers from corrupt and unfair bosses. The bosses haven't changedm but nowadays the workers have become corrupt and unfair as well. So now what? Union-busting? I hope not.

But sometimes strikes just don't make sense. The ER doctors and nurses strike that happened a few moons ago, for instance. Bad idea to put lives at risk over money. Sometimes, even though a strike seems warranted, actions by the strikers make me want them to go to hell. Enter the current Vid�otron strike.

If the lost business doesn't lead to layoffs, I'll be surprised, especially since CBC says that this has cost Vid�otron about 15 million bucks. Some pressure tactics are disasterously poorly thought-out...

**********

Oh, first case of Mad Cow disease in Canada: A man in Saskatchewan died last week, apparently from beef he ate in England about 10 years ago. The beef industry is going hog-wild trying to tell us that Canadian beef is safe, but I don't agree: factory farming means that it's only a matter of time before we have an epidemic here as well.

**********

20h45 9th August
No, my service *isn't* finally up, I'm at the Origamist's, using his dial-up connexion. Man, I'm pissed... anyway, I'm tired as hell, lemme tell you.

Ugh. Anyway, Luv and I are supposed to go out for supper, but she's sitting and eating bread and cheese with the Origamist, Scottish Legs, and a couple of other friends. Oh well, so much for that.

Anyway, more later...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005