07.17.2002 || 12h13

Kitties, Bagels, and funny Englishmen

Hm. Apparently, some NYC food writer calling himself the Fat Guy likes Montr�al. Damn, now I'm hungry.

I have to admit that reading the following made me feel all warm and fuzzy: 'The European Jewish influence on Montreal's culinary scene is evident in bagels, smoked meat and the whole culture of the delicatessen. Many American Jews - me included - express disbelief when they first learn of Montreal's Jewish community ("Do they speak French?" "Do they say 'eh'?" "Do they know about bagels and lox?").

But the big surprise is that Montreal has the world's best bagels. As painful as it is for me as a New Yorker to admit, we have nothing back home that can compete with the wood-oven-baked, sweet, dense, chewy, crusty specimens produced by St. Viateur and its rival, Fairmount Bagel.'

You see, a certain Brooklyner and I have had this argument for aeons. she thinks NYC makes the best bagels (Canadians who don't want to cross the border can get the exact same thing in Toronto), and I say she's sadly mistaken. I now feel invincible. I had a bagel to celebrate.

Though no one in Montr�al says 'eh,' okay? No one.

**********

So, after reading the story from my previous post, I came down off my revulsion and had a good sniffle. Then I went and snuzzled my boys until they were purring and cavorting. They are the best guys in town, and I guess I suddeny can't take it for granted that they automatically had the chance to grow into such kickass cats. Being small and cute doesn't mean a thing, sometimes; and they were both so fragile as kittens. Before moving to this animal-deathtrap, I used to let the boys out all the time, blithely trusting that they'd be okay. That *should* be a safe assumption. They're *cats,* fer fuksakes...

**********

Oh, the Origamist and I got to meet Pablo yesterday. He's in town for 6 days doing a job that both the Origamist and I would love to have. We regaled him with tales of Canadian politics and stuff. I think we might have made the whole sorry mess seem even more tragicomic than it is, but you know...

Afters, Pablo and I went to see an absolutely hilarious show that the British Council was supporting at the Just for Laughs festival. Can't remember the bloke's name, but I remembered catching the tail end of one of his shows on TV a while ago. As soon as I remember his name, I'm looking for more of him...





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005