07.14.2002 || 00h36

Another disasterous death for Canada

Ugh. It seems that the turn-of-the-millenium decimation of Canadian talent isn't over yet. This is becoming rude, I tell you. I dunno; sometimes the artist in question dies in the midst of their creative years, ending a string of works halfway through and leaving the world with the frayed ends of a story stopped before its close. Sometimes the artist hasn't made anything (or at least anything of note) for years. Different kinds of tragedy; one is the tragedy of a talent silenced before its time, the other is simply the tragedy of a person's life ended, a famous person and hero to some, but still someone who had given what they had to give.

In terms of new works, that is. People are more than their art.

I love Karsh's work. His touch was special, and his utter refusal to be cowed by his photography subjects, no matter how famous, gave his photos an almost irreverent quality that brings them all to life. The portrait he took of Winston Churchill has an amazing anecdote associated with it: He ordered the British Prime Minister to take the cigar out of his mouth, and snapped the picture while the PM was still scowling about Karsh's impertinence.

**********

To-night, after soup and drinks chez Scottish Legs and her Beau, SL drove me back downtown through the former ghetto in which I once lived. She lived in Montr�al Ouest at the same time as I lived in the Ol' Hood, and grew up knowing the kids on our side as those with whom she didn't want to play. We drove past the spot where that fucking bully fired his bug ugly gun at me and sent me home with shivers running down my 10-year-old back. I still don't know why I never told Maman about it. We drove past the sites where I saw some of the ugliest shite I will ever witness, the stuff that Luv didn't believe when I told her. I understand her stance better now that I know how she grew up (and some of what she says seems alien to me as well). She's paying for it now, of course, and doing better at it than most suburban whitebread kids ever will. Kudos where Kudos is due...

**********

So, to-day, I practiced bass, guitar, bodhr�n, and fiddle. I will do the same to-morrow. And the next day, and the day after that...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005