07.09.2002 || 23h31

Sometimes, the work is so hard.

Be glad you're not me right now. I am doing something that is making me cringe, but I cannot in all conscience sit back and watch this unfold the way it looks like it's going to unfold. To-morro is the general assembly at the society. One of the members has been victimised by what amounts to a witchhunt, and is being asked for his resignation from the group over alledged sexual harassment and causing disturbances. The problem is, the board has not consulted with me on any of this, and as Stage Manager, I was the one who dealt with any problems with this character that had come up. Officially, everytime I dealt with an issue pertaining to him, the situation improved. He put in a lot of work; he researched the play to bits and actually seemed to enjoy doing the show. Yes, he smelled. Yes, he was a retrograde fuck. Yes, he couldn't keep the steps right. Yes, he was allowing his hands to wander.

He's not the only sexual predator in the group. Hell, a fifth of the male chorus and a quarter of the female chorus are sexual predators. And as far as creating disturbances goes, he's not the worst one there, either.

And I passed nothing official on to the director or the board. I dealt with each situation by sitting down with both of the involved parties, and hammered out a solution every time. Then I heard nothing more about it.

But several members of the board don't like him, and have decided to let him go, no matter what he says.

Ergo, they're using unofficial complaints about him as ammo (unless you count the fact that board members went out and *pulled* complaints from some members of the cast, that is).

So now, I'm compiling a list of everyone I got unofficial complaints about over the past year. To-morrow night, if the final word is that he goes, I will present them with the list and move that the people on that list be expelled from the group. Three of them are board members. Some of them are my friends, dammit.

And I don't even *like* the guy in question. Man, I am *so* sad right now; I can't let it happen this way, though. It's just not right.

It's the thing to do, but I know that they won't see it that way. I wish I could skip the meeting, but I was the Stage Manager, fer gossakes. Can't I just stay in bed? Pretty please?



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005