07.09.2002 || 00h36

Some more notes. Too bad my previous entry got erased by Dland...

I am visciously pissed at Diaryland for single-handedly sinking an entry I made earlier to-day. Pissed royally, I might add...

**********

One would think that, with our economy roaring past that of the US so badly, I'd be able to find a job with no problem. Huh. Still looking. I'll have my proposal in to the company for that tech-writing contract to-morrow or Wednesday, so maybe that'll catch me some work, but I ain't holding my breath...

**********

Great. You know, we have the technology to-day to stop destroying the Earth without losing our fucking sacred Standard of Living. I know that speaking from a nation of a lousy 30 million people (and much of whose pollution stems from the factories that our southern neighbours have strung along the border), I'm not talking about the biggest culprit. But we are not exactly clean. I also know that the country just to the south is one of the worst, and I know that Americans are far more than the sum of their government. Maybe there's hope in the US citizen, the person on the street. I mean, *someone* has to convince GWB to sign onto the Kyoto protocol; to cut back on the cutbacks he's been making for the benefit of his big business buddies; to kerb the spread of SUVs and minivans; to stop polluting the world with Coca-colonialism, and to actually start acting in accordance with the world's needs on *something,* for once -- Landmines, the war crimes tribunal, the war on terrorism... Anything.

In return, we Canadians have to do the same thing northside. Yeah, we're largely responsible for many of the things that the US government hates, including that pesky war crimes tribunal and landmines ban, but we still use a lot of SUVs, and whereas the Canadian government's decision to re-categorise SUVs as cars instead of trucks puts much more stringent demands on them in terms of emissions, we could go farther. the gods know we aren't going far enough.

Cars could be running on fuel cells or hybrid motors at a much higher rate, the existing fleet or hydrogen-powered BMWs could easily spread to a whole line of cars and beyond... I know: the oil industry. I know.

Apparently the hybrid Toyota is better than the hybrid Hondas because it's got an electric motor that's complemented by a gas one instead of the other way 'round, like the Hondas have. It's a step, but it's not enough. We have a planet to think about. The Scandinavians with their hydrogen and windmill farms are putting us to shame, same as always...

**********

Two things down: took care of the headshot situation and did my homework for this evening's class. Also wrote the first draft of my weekly story for Luv. Still so much to do...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005