06.07.2002 || 17h25

DVDs, payments, shits and giggles

Hm. It seems that the Caisse Populaire's policy of not handing money over to robbers has reaped some very weird rewards. Claude Mailhot was left a quadrapalegic after a robber shot him in the back when tellers refused to hand over a cent on 17 April 1998. Mailhot is suing the Caisse, and rightfully so. What, like the Mouvement Desjardins doesn't have insurance? It's a *bank,* fer chrissakes.

**********

In other, weirder news, a former Bank of America banker from California who becaume court jester to the King of Tongo is being accused of defrauding the Tongan government of $26 million in an investment scheme. The guy, whose name is Jesse Bogdonoff, is quoted as saying od the whole affair that 'I've had people in Tonga calling for me to be thrown underground and cooked like a pig.'

Okay, two words: What?

**********

Great, Bush is shuffling the US security establishment so that they can keep meddling in others' affairs without losing anymore land makrs. My suggestion? If you want to save American lives, get your fat arse out of the Middle east. Period. Slapping Information security posters up and turning your country into a police state won't do *nearly* as much as starting to actually act in accordance with the rules by which this planet is trying to govern itself Yes, I'm also talking about the Kyoto protocol and the Ottawa Convention, here.

But then, the remedial politics of Washington has nothing to do with solving problems, just keeping their military/industrial complex going.

What a crock. The people of the US are owed more than this. They're owed a foreign policy that doesn't make every American look like an imperialist by default, especially because we're all more than the sum of our nationalities.

Aren't we?

**********

This morning, I was sitting at my machine and reading the football news when Roommate came padding out of his room.

CF: Nigeria's out.

Roommate: Argh! Tell me nothing! I'm watching the England-Argentina game to-night!

Cf: Oh, so you don't want me to tell you of England's spectac--

Roommate: Ackpth!

[Roommate runs into bathroom and slams the door. Cf giggles impishly]

Hm, I actually almost bought a 'Deutchland' footie jersey yesternight. I figured it would be too shocking for my friends to see me in white, though...

**********

Friggin Grand Prix; the city's crawling with fancy autos and hoochie mamas in tight red Ferrari shirts. I alsmost got hit by a ya-ya in a sparkly blue Diablo about an hour ago. I have also told at least three different groups of American tourists that the M�tro in Montr�al is *not* signified by a large 'M;' that those are the M�tros in Paris, which is the *other* large francophone city. ;-)

**********

I bought a couple of DVDs to-day. My first DVDs ever, BTW, so I feel a bit hep and modern right now. I got Strange days because it was cheap and I liked it, and Harry Potter and the Philosophers' Stone purely because Luv refused to see it because apparently kids wouldn't read the books if there were films out. I reminded her that up here kids can actually *read,* so that wouldn't be an issue in Canadia, but anyway...

**********

Dzzzamn! I think I sunburned my *nose!* Owch!





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005