05.16.2002 || 12h12

Tired questions...

I was sitting at the pub yesterday, editing a chapter, when (as usual) a discussion about Americans came up and how thankful we should all be every morning that We Ain't Them. I stayed out of it this time because I know all that and I really think we should concentrate on keeping ourselves great rather than ripping our southern neighbours down all the time. But I noticed something: This time, the conversation *didn't* revolve around the fact that thei money looks like monopoly money, or the classlessness of their culture or any of that [yawn] stuff. the conversation was taking place among three men, all of whom spend 3 weeks out of every month in one American city or another because of their businesses. The conversation centred around things like how, even though the US offers a lot of really cool stuff (very true), these guys' outsiders' view on the place has shown them that, under the current propaganda, there is an extremely scary trend going on, both in terms of a subtle shift into a last-century style insularity and racial intolerance, and the beginnings of what could very well become a Big Brother state sometime soon. I've seen the same stuff, but I didn't get into the convo. The thing is, I keep wanting to find a way to defend the US in some way. They just make it so hard.

Also, it's all well and good to sit about and be all superior and yadda, but how does Canada keep from falling into the same abyss? We're not exactly the propaganda powerhouse that they are, and it's hard to ignore something like that.

Why is it that, whereas the question facing the US is always 'how can we make the world better for the USA,' the question facing Canada is always 'How can we keep the country sovereign for at least the next ten years?'

**********

Jaysus, will somebody please buy me this? No, I don't know exactly what I'll do with it -- yet. But gimmie a few days, and I'll come up with something mega-cool.

**********

Back to the show to-night. An e-mail sent to the cast and crew told us the happy news that we're sold out for to-night, and pretty damned close for closing night. That's great. We're putting our all in, so we deserve it.

Of course, my acting class will be in NYC this week-end. Bastards, they're going to acting seminars and living it up. Not one of them has a lover in NYC.

**********

Here's an importanmt question: Is Michelle Branch legal or do I think criminal thoughts whenever she's on MusiquePlus?



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005