05.13.2002 || 12:52

quick little notes.

A letter I wrote (and sent) to a certain Big Name English University to-day:

Department of English
Big Name University
mailing address

To whom it may concern,

This note regards the yellow personal data form that I received in lieu of a cheque to-day. I would like to know why I did not receive this form to fill out when I did the actual work, which we all know was far too long ago for any of this to be excusable. I would also like to know why I am now giving you the exact same information for the third time (albeit the first time I've had to fill out a for), and why I had to give that information over the telephone a few days ago if I was going to receive the yellow form anyway.

I would further like to know if there are any other forms, requests, or other hoops through which I will have to leap before finally getting paid for work I did months ago.

Please do me a favour and send me the cheque so I can forget I ever worked for your institution.

Sincerely,
cf188

Best Friend: 'Hm. That last line seems a bit harsh...'

cf: 'Really? But I took out "two-bit, laurel-arsed."'

Seriously, the more I see of this Uni, the less I believe that it's worth the name it has. I went to a smaller name school that has been steadily building its name over the last half decade or so by knowing what they can't compete in, and concentrating on the stuff they know they're better at (Arts, Communications, and Engineering coming to mind) and generally being an extremely upstartish little school that is blissfully free of the Old Boys Club mentality and frat-houses of the Big Name school. I have also worked for both Unies now, and have to say that the smaller school has a much more streamlined operation. Hmph. Whatever. They'd just better pay me.

----------

In other news, the show is going well. The cast has really pulled together, and though the police are still sloppy as hell, they're a lot better than they were going into this. If the thespians knew how rough backstage staff generally tend to be when yapping on those headsets, I think there would be at least one dead curtain operator or lighting tech at the theatre...

A few days ago, during the dress for the alternate leads, the Soprano was sitting in the booth next to me (thrilled as a kid in a candy store. Thespians are *never* allowed in there), and every time her alternate misfired, she'd get angrier. Finally, when the alternate got offstage, the Soprano tossed down her headset and marched off to inform her of her mess-ups.

cf: 'Boys, the Soprano just left the booth to go kick Useless Castmember's arse.'

Several backstage voices: '$10 on the Soprano.'

The Soprano hadn't actually left the booth yet. She's a very good sport.

Anyway, we have a couple of days off before our closing run in Montr�al, though I just got a totally disenheartening call from the producer to-day. It seems that the concert version we were going to do on the 24th has been changed, by the client, to a full version. Tiny stage, kitchen for dressing in, no makeup room. The cast has been worked to the blood and don't deserve this: it means a placement rehearsal, which none of them are going to want...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005