04.25.2002 || 00h19

Acting, thespians, and musicals.

Tired. Long rehearsal, and they only promise to get longer. bright side: These thespians are finally getting it right. Not far right, of course, but right nonetheless.

Question: The art-house schlock short that the Origamist and I have written is a 5-minute monologue with no cuts. Stage actors have no problem, but screen actors must deal with *way* more subtlety and close-up exposure. Is a five-minute monologue, where the audience needs to see raw emotion etched into the face, too much? Should there be cuts?

I hope not. I hope we can find someone who can do it.

But first, I must get employed. I need money for shooting and an external hard drive, and food for the talent and crew. I need to pay my bills first and foremost.

Just so you didn't think I was losing track of my priorities...

A former student at acting school where I take courses called one of our profs in a bit of a panic: He's top of his class at a predominant New York acting school (which shall, for obvious reasons, remain nameless), and has been told that he may not be invited back next year. When he asked why, he was told it was because he's Canadian. Apparently, it creates issues with the SAG or something similarly stupid.

It seems that the world of Big Name American Acting is changing, and we seem to be getting the short end of it. The guy's European classmates aren't suffering the same prejudice as he is.

Hm. No wonder they're telling us not to go south for stuff like that anymore...



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005