04.18.2002 || 10h28

Operettas and friendly fire

Men's chorus is still stinking, but less than before. We have only a few weeks until showtime, so it's scary. I'm supposed to sell a gazillion tickets so that the Society will still be around next year, but I don't want to be embarassed by an ill-prepared cast either. There's no excuse at this point. We've been going over blocking since January, and the music since September. Last night I saw people still surreptitiously looking at their scores. Fuckers.

The Women's chorus are stars. Every single one. They have spent the last looong-arsed time working instead of jerking off. Men are about to be pulled from numbers because it's just getting too close now.

That being said, last night, some of the numbers actually looked like they were coming together. It's late now. Too late, but it made me think, just for a second or two, that we'd have a real show this year. There are a lot of people, Men included, who came into this with good intentions, and who are as frustrated as the director and the origamist and me.

**********

It is startling how often the US friendly-fires Canadian soldiers out of existence. This has happened at least once in every conflict we've ever marched into at their side. Go figure: our first mortalities of the war, and it was under American bombs dropped on a known training ground. Add them to the tally: at least 10 US troops have been killed by friendly fire so far in Afghanistan. Which is only about 10 less than the Afghanis have killed. I'd like to raise a toast to our US friends. They're almost as deadly to our side as is the enemy.

What a crock. I've already railed against the Maple Leaf flying in Afghanistan at all, and I ain't going to try to flog that horse back to life... However, I'd also like to respectfully ask that the US Defence department spend less on fancy toys and more on training.... please? I mean, the toys are sexy, but half your kills always end up being from your own team.

And I think the question is made more poignant by ominous crap like this. I think every Canadian should be just a little worried about it.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005