03.28.2002 || 12h25

Food.

So, I have about a bajoolian things to do before getting into a car for NYC to-morrow. I have to pack, finish getting my portfolio together so I can get into school, compile a couple more driving CDs, and finish designing the programme cover for the society's shows in May.

But before I could start, I felt the overpowering desire to hunt down the vegetarian/organic foods store at the Uni. Even though I couldn't remember its name, I knew it was there because I remembered being in it a couple of times during the last semester of my bachelor's degree. I figured I would let her know that it won't be too hard to eat right when she's here.

Anyway, store's found, URL's sent, and work commences on other things. I think that I might swing by the place when I get back to see if it's changed much, and to see if I can afford to start buying my stuff there. I know, I know: vegetarianism -- how middle-class. Yadda yadda. I said I was going to check out eating cleaner and more guilt-free, not that I was going to slap a rediculous label on myself and plant my flag, fer gossakes (I know *exactly* who among you would line up to spank me otherwise), but my conversations with the girl sparked my curiosity about certain things, as well as a slight inclination towards supporting her (I'm not nearly the jerque she makes me out to be everytime we argue); and I've been considering going further into organics and alternative foods than I have been. I already try to eat as little red meat as possible (partly because I just don't like the stuff), but I could definitely go for free-range flesh instead of simply picking the cheapest chicken breasts out of the bin at IGA. I could buy my bread and veggies at the organic places in the market down the street instead of seeing what's on sale this week. I know: expensive. Part of me considers this to be an act of bald yuppiedom, but if the food is better and I can afford it, then why not? Also, I don't see how we can get this food into the mouths of the poorer people if we don't open the market up a lot more. And I refuse to believe that good food lies purely within the purview of those middle-class rats.

Um, how the hell did I get here? I was only talking about my morning... Sheesh.

Oh: Monstre, got yer postcard. Made me wistful, damn you!



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005