02.24.2001 || 23:53

Canada Day

Okay, embarassing admission time: I really, really did care about who won hockey gold. Just like everyone else around here, I wanted our women to beat the US women's hockey team, just to get them back for the rampant tastelessness of their conduct last time around. Just like everyone else around here, I was desperate for a Canuckian men's hockey gold this time around, and it was just twice as sweet since it was against team USA again. I'd been listening to the game on the radio before going to my acting class, and again on the bus on my way there. The teacher called a friend for an update at break, and I heard thunderous screams coming from every window I passed after class. Yeah, I know: It was just another NHL game, really. Yeah, I know: The Olympics are a crock ever since they allowed pro athletes to compete. But just for to-night, hockey's *our* game again.

When the Origamist and I met the Soprano downtown, we discovered that Ste-Catherine street was completely clogged with screaming people, waving more Maple Leafs that I've ever seen this side of Canada Day. A little farther on, two rows of riot police kept people away from the ragged wreck of a city bus on the side of the street. We never pass up an opportunity here...

Then we watched most of a closing ceremony that was nothing short of appalling.

Absolutely appalling.





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005