01.02.1970 || 12h12

Stardom and snow tyres

I was sitting on the M�tro this morning, minding my own business, when I noticed the woman sitting in the single-seat in front of me. I didn't notice her because she was beautiful or sexy or overly ugly or even really noticeable, but rather because she spent the entire ride from Lionel-Groulx to Square-Victoria doing her eyes. She had one of those eyelash-crimping thingies, eyeshadow, mascara, powders, creams, silicone, gelatin, and a side order of utter, zealous concentration. I finally caught myself staring openly, and glanced awa, only to discover three other men doing the same thing, and all with the same slightly quizzical look that I *hoped* hadn't been on my face.

It shocks and dismays me that now, in the first breath of the 21st century, the market for books is shrivelling while an industry based on convincing women that they aren't beautiful without help is booming.

Priorities.

Last night, we watched Denys Arcand's Stardom, which was the first Canadian film in decades to have the honour of being the closing film at Cannes in 2000. It was a terrific little mocumentary that followed young woman's rise from obscurity in small-town Ontario to stardom as a super model, while her life rapidly dives into complete crap. A fine satire that stars a very capable newish actress Jessica Par�) along side a fairly proven cast, I found it entertaining. But coming from Denys Arcand, I found it slightly anaemic. After Jesus de Montr�al and the Decline of the American Empire, I was expecting something that pulled no punches. I think he could have taken Stardom deeper, though it would have been tough given its interviews-and-soundbites motif. He still should have taken it deeper.

Anyway, Laura's home safe, despite not having snow tyres on her car. I gasped when she told me she'd never thought of such a thing, and stressed until she called from home to say she was home in one piece. Oh well, I guess it's like that Petro-Canada advert on TV: You've got to live here to get it.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005