01.27.2002 || 01:42

Poppa's got a brand-new... coat?

So to-day I ventured forth to meet Sister and buy a new coat. Maman had pledged $100 to the cause as a way of getting me to lose the ancient, torn bomber-jacket I've been wearing for the past decade. Found one at Pegabo for a good price: $475 down to $285 or so, wth an additional 25% off. it ended off at $225 plus taxes. I put $100 down on it, and will pay the rest off next week.

All that to say that this was a weird event for me: I have *never* before bought an article of clothig for which I couldn't pay up front. Weird.... but I kinda like the coat, and I think that Sister's relieved: this was our third excursion to find a fricking coat, and I'd ended off each previous one bitchy and not wanting to buy a new coat after all, even though my old trusty bomber's ratty as fuck and has a flag on the sleeve...

**********

When I left the house this morning, I discovered that someone had dropped off one of those perfect Montr�al winter days: the sun was shining and the air was warm, though the tang of winter still floated everywhere. The snow was running in watery rivulets down into the sewers, and there was no ice on the stairs. Of course, that kind of perfect Montr�al winter day is *supposed* to arrive just as winter gives up the ghost. This whole global-warming thing is scary...

**********

To-night, I was on the M�tro, zipping towards Ye Olde Orchard for a pint with the Czar and friends, when I noticed that the woman seated opposite me was crying and slapping her head. In typical CF fashion, I ignored her and hoped she wasn't a creep who would ask me for change or my firstborn. Unfortunately, the quartet of sleek Parisians who got on with me took a different angle. I guess they didn't realise that we don't have a good samaritans law in Canada; one reached over and tapped the woman's shoulder to ask what was up. She jerked back as if he'd showed her a haemorrhoid, then yelled a stream of florid Qu�b�cois obscenities at the hapless man. Now, the chances of a Parisian understanding our filthytalk are slim. I have a lot of experience with the Swiss on this, as well as some with the French, and I know what I'm talking about. The guy was obviously flabbergasted, as well as completely clueless as to what the woman was on about. I bit my lip to keep from laughing even though a large part of me was pissed at the thankless bitch over her abuse of someone who was, after all, trying to help her.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005