01.25.2002 || 13h26

Film stuff, Code stuff, and the death of an icon

Wish I'd stood in bed. I was up 'til 4h30 coding my word processor. Re-coding, actually, as I'd discovered some embarassingly crappy shite I'd done in it last year. I should have gone to bed but I just kept tapping away, just one more function, just one more feature, just one more

Dim f as FolderItem
Dim w as TextWindow
  f=GetOpenFolderItem("text")
  If f <> Nil then
   w=New TextWindow
   f.OpenStyledEditField w.TextField
   w.Document=f
   w.title=f.Name
 End if

*Yawn*

Now I'm tired. I will work on it a bit more to-day, and write some. Must write...

**********

You know, I recently read this book called 'What They Don't Teach You at Film School,' and I found it to be a fairly good read by two obviously very literate people, but the book should prolly have had a disclaimer placed loud and clear on the front, stating: For those wishing to work in the US industry ONLY!' Either that, or had an appendix at the end of situations in which Canadian filmmakers working domestically are immune to the anecdotes and rules laid out in there. I know 'but we're AMERICA! We have the Second Largest Film Industry On The Planet!' Yadda. If you're going to sell a book internationally, it would be nice if you'd get over the idea that *every* one wants to go to the Land of Milk and Honey, *especially* in terms of Filmmaking, where there are exciting industries popping up everywhere outside of the US nowadays. be clear, folks: 'Film Industry' doesn't mean 'LA, NYC, and Satellite Markets' these days.

The world is changing a lot. That book should have been titled 'What They Don't Teach You at Film School: a Handbook for the American Filmmaker.' That would have been clearer and less exclusionary. That being said, some of the info in there *was* useful, and it's a pretty good read.

**********

Which reminds me: Yesterday, I found some of the old movies I made in university. To-morrow, I shall burn them.

**********

To-night, there's a pretty girl coming over for supper and candlelit conversation. No, I'm not cheating on Her, so put down the weapons, guys. The Soprano is coming by to show me how to make her patented peanut-butter pasta. Now, this unfortunately means that I will be skipping out on an Operetta Society birthday bash to-night (I'd forgotten), but I don't really feel that bad about it because this way I won't have to spend the night in terror of my name coming up on the karaoke list, or of them breaking out the god-DAMNED Tequila. Man, I *hate* that stuff, and it makes me do things I'm glad I can't remember. I mean, I don't remember, but I'm taking it on good authority, here...

The Origamist is going to be pissed at me for not going, but I really did forget.

Oh well.

**********

On the REALLY bad news front, an old friend to many, *many* Canadians is dead. I can't believe it. I really can't imagine that the voice that I heard on the radio every morning at breakfast for so long is irrevocably gone. I guess I'd sort of harboured secret hopes that he'd be back on CBC One at some point or something. I don't know. Even though he was no longer part of the morning CBC broadcast, he was still writing, fundraising, and generally staying visible. He leaves a cavernous hole in Canada's cultural make-up.

Dammit. Dammit.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005