01.10.2002 || 19h51

Still sick, still bitching...

Hm, so I took the Political Compass test and came out pretty strongly in the Left/Libertarian quadrant. Authors I would prolly like are Naomi Klein, Eric Schlosser, Thomas Paine, Noam Chomsky, Ralph Nader, Titus Alexander, George Monbiot, Peter Kropotkin, Tariq Ali, and john Kenneth Galbraith. Hm. Is it telling that I've already read some of these? No Logo is an essential read, by the way...

**********

Hm, according to the UN, the ten largest urban agglomerations on the planet in 2015 will be:

  1. Tokyo 28.7 million
  2. Bombay 27.4 million
  3. Lagos 24.4 million
  4. Shanghai 23.4 million
  5. Jakarta 21.2 million
  6. S�o Paulo 20.8 million
  7. Karachi 20.6 million
  8. Beijing 19.4 million
  9. Dhaka, Bangladesh 19.0 million
  10. M�xico City 18.8 million

Let's see: There are currently 32 million Canadians. In the whole country, I mean. We ain't that big, I see...

But man! How does one *run* a city as big as that? I mean, one look around NYC or LA or Toronto and you can tell that a city bigger than a million or two gets really shaggy, really fast. How the hell does one keep a city of 19 million *clean?* How do you keep a transit system going for that many people? Do they have libraries and garbage pickup? It's just such a mind-boggling number of people...

I dunno, the Japanese make capitalism work way better than we do, maybe they can keep a big-arsed city better, too. No idea, as I've never been there, but when Sister went to Beijing, she was shocked that there was no litter *anywhere,* and that everything ran smoothly.

**********

So, I've decided that, until my voice returns, I will conduct all conversations using only interpretive dance. don't bother phoning; it doesn't transmit well.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005