01.03.2002 || 11:35

Home sweeeet home

I'm home and tired as hell.

Came home to all kinds of bad news, including (but sadly not confined to) the government's decision to give me nothing for the two weeks following the two weeks for which they gave me nothing. I'm trying to find out why, but the line's always busy.

So, my last night in Vancouver, Da and I played some guitar and sang a bit, then read in front of the fire before drifitng off to bed. The next morning, we went to the Dr Sun Yat-Sen garden, which was the first classical Chinese garden ever built outside of China. THe Chinese artisans who came from the People's Republic to built the gardens brought only Ming-era tools and materials, and used no electricity or glues or nails in the construction of the buildings

The result is spectacular.

A quick hike through the forest and across the suspension bridge at Lynn Canyon was the perfect top-off to my holiday, though it would have been even better if Laura'd been there to see the steam rising off of the ice crust on Rice Lake or the too-bright waters careening crazily at the bottom of the canyon -- All part of one of my favourite places, not only in Vancouver, but pretty much anywhere. It's been fenced in a lot in recent years, and many of the trails have been made easier and more civilised via the addition of planking and steps, but the forest and the constant whispers still speak to me when there's no-one on the trail.

I'm glad to be home, though -- bleak news or no (Don't ask. I think it's a secret). To-night I will sleep in my own bed with my *cats* surrounding me. Gods, I missed them...





||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005