12.23.2001 || 17:45

Pre-X-mas thoughts... or something, anyway.

So, things I did yesterday to avoid editing:

  • Made truffles;
  • made endless cappuccinos;
  • Washed dishes;
  • Washed the bathroom and WC;
  • Gift-exchanged with the roomies;
  • Thought about Luv about 102,000 times;
  • Had the Origamist over in the afternoon;
  • Went to one of Montr�al's *many* noodle places for chow-mein;
  • Had the Origamist and sister over in the evening to drink Sak� Martinis, Gibsons, Guinness, and Kilkenny;
  • Watched Moulin Rouge with said people (which I enjoyed immensely, though more for the production than for the vanilla waifer in the female starring role);
  • Watched the *n sync special on Much (look, I was desperately trying to procrastinate. besides, we made fun of these guys for over TWO hours!) with said people plus Best Friend, who'd just arrived home from a family X-massy affair with some cousins;
  • Went to bed.

**********

Heh, one of Best Friend's cousins was wearing plaid pants and a Sex Pistols tee-shirt. My first instinct was a 'Whoah! How does a little girl (well, okay: teen-ager. I must be getting old...) like you know who the Sex Pistols were?' liberally blended with a hefty dollop of reminiscence (pertaining to the days when most of the people I knew wore plaid pants and sex pistols tee-shirts, but with more safety pins in their faces). My very next thought was ' Huzzah! At least there's ONE out there who isn't going Gah over Christina Aguillera!'

She's alright, that kid...

**********

Hm. I finished my X-mas shopping to-day. I saw a bajillion things that I *knew* were perfect for Sister or Luv, or Maman or the Origamist or J or NMB, but I just haven't the cash, this year, for anything other than cheese. And cheese for a select few, at that. Last year I spent hundreds and didn't care. Last year I was in a job I hated. I know which is better. I still want to give more than I can, though.

And I'd like to do it on days other than the marketing-approved, faith-cleansed holidays. I'd like to just be able to hand someone something at any time without them wondering what I'm up to. I used to do that, but people don't trust it, so I stopped. I have an excuse at X-mas. I have another at birthdays.

**********

I've worked out a plan for my situation, vis-a-vis cash. It's rough right now, but there's an end in sight. The bank will lay off me for 3 months if I can give them the $160 I owe them within a month. No problem. I'm going to ignore the EI overpayment because I know they'll just take it from me the week after next, when I'm eligible for money again. Everything else is manageable.

Of course, *now* my backpack starts to give out, right? Gr. Ugh. Later, later...

**********

Whee. Provided no one drills our planes into the sides of buildings, Luv and I will see Da and the Wicked Step Mum on Wednesday. Looking forward to it immensely, partially because I want to see this camera of WSM's. Apparently she got one that's even better than *mine*, though she didn't go for the Nikon (sniffs haughtily). I'm going to have to check this out for myself...

Um, there's also the whole Vancouver thing. I'm constantly being told that it's not the city it used to be, but I'll make my own mind up about that, thankyouverymuch...

Oh, and Da and WSM will adore Luv as much as Maman and Sister do. I know this; It's not even up for discussion.

Gotta finish editing now.

[smooch]



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005