12.20.2001 || 2h23

fellowship of the Ring and more *fricking* copyediting...

Saw the Fellowship of the Ring to-night. I had thought to skip it, seeing as I really have *no* money, but my ticket was already saved for me, so I'd have had to pay it anyway. I kinda liked the film, though I have to say that elves have *really* cheesy taste in jewelry and buildings... There were some things from the book that were missing, but I understand that it would be more than a mere three-hour movie to capture the book in its entirety, so I didn't let it get to me too much.

Had to go all the way out to Kirkland to see it, though, because MB got us the special tix and his entire life revolves around the West Island. Ugh, what an ugly existence...

Anyway, I'm back. I had dinner at NF's and drooled over the Harman Kardon stereo that he got for $400 because it was last year's model. i also drooled somewhat over his extensive and fabulous music collection: everything from Nick Drake to Yes to Skinny Puppy to god knows what.

Oh: I saw a preview for a movie I am *definitely* going to see. It stars Molly Parker, Paul Gross and Leslie Nielsen, as well as Peter Outerbridge. I'm going to drag Luv to see it with me next time she comes Northside, as I'm not expecting it to be viewable in the great, insular US of A. I hope it's good, dammit!

**********

Gr. Things that cannot be ignored when copyediting for a US publishing house, as compared against Oxford, Gage, and Webster:

  • Unlike the International and Canadian usage, US English *demands* that consonants not be doubled before a suffix ('canceled' instead of 'cancelled');
  • US English drops the us from words like 'colour,' though not from 'Glamour';
  • In most cases, -re endings become -er ones, such as for words like 'theatre' or 'metre';
  • Don't even get me *started* about the manoeuvre / maneuver dichotomy;
  • US English replaces c with s in -ence words like defence, though it ignores the International English differentiation between licence (noun) and license (verb), opting for just license, then wipes the floor with the idea of uniformity by using only the *noun* variant of the practice (noun) / practise (verb) pair.
  • They only use dependent, whereas we make the distinction of dependent (adjective) versus dependant (noun).
  • Preferred US usage dumbs down words like catalogue and cheque, giving the world the utterly inelegant catalog and check.
  • There are certain instances where Canadian usage sticks out: both Oxford and Webster actually agree on collectible, whereas the proper Canadian variant is collectable.
  • Also, Whereas the Brits eat 'Yoghurt,' and the Yanks ingest 'Yogurt,' Canadians like to consume vast amounts of 'Yogourt.'

I think I'm going to take a break from copyediting and go eat a doughnut (or donut); or maybe just some doughnut holes/Munchkins/Timbits and a pop/soda/soft-drink.

Actually, on second thoughts, I'll swing by the pub and see what sort of light (or lite) beer they have on draft or even on draught.

Man, I hope that all this is just the language going through some sort of ugly phase. Or is it 'phaze?' I'd analyse this further, But I don't know if it should rather be analyzed...

I'm stopping this right now. Good nite.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005