12.19.2001 || 10:29

Shite and more shite.

Mugh. Another chapter done, so they send me yet another. More technobabble about strings, arrays, methods, wrappers, classes, dragonsbane and eye of newt, stirred into an empty PC case and warmed over an overclocked Pentium III.

They gave Luv a children's book to edit. They're slack on her about the deadlines and her chapters are *maybe* eight pages. I have 24-48 hours each chapter and my page count so far has been:

Chapter 2: 61 pages;
Chapter 3: 48 pages;
Chapter 4: 31 pages;
Chapter 5: 49 pages.

please note that Chapters 3 and 5 were written by a native German speaker and show all of the lousy grammar, rampant capitalisation, and comma madness that this entails.

And the book is written for the digerati. You know, those who won't respond to a joke unless it's told to them in binary.

'Medic! Copyeditor down!'
'We read you. Gunshot wound?'
'No, bored to catatonia.'

**********

Speaking of Geekitude, I've discovered, over the past three weeks, that the best way to deal with the horrors of technical copyediting is to spend tuesday night reducing your friends to little bits of quivvering and smoking manbeef over your home network. 2 ibooks, a hub, and an iMac of Doom make for one atrociously fast slaughterapparatus. Important note: aim with your mouse, not the arrow keys.

**********

Shite, now I have to make out a cheque to the Receiver General for Canada because of an Employment Insurance overpayment issue. Ugh. I'd like to try something new, here: Just once, can I spend one *week* trouble-free? Just to see if I'd like it....

Yuck. I am officially not making ends meet. Copyediting can't pay my bills now because they only pay 45 days after the job's done, and I've got more money spoken for than I have coming in. Hm. I might want to come up with a Cunning Plan, here...

I'll let you know if I come up with anything.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005