11.26.2001 || 12:54 a.m.

Yankee Thanksgiving, eh?

I knew we'd crossed into the US because the roads got better but literally *everything* else got more run down and scrappy looking -- Including NYC. I like the urban decay look so I found it to be kinda attractive, aside from the outlandish size of the flags on EVERY balcony in the Bronx. Crass patriotism can make even the most beautiful neighbourhood look like a joke, and Throgg's Neck (or 'Throg's Neck,' depending on which post office, streetsign, or convenience store you're looking at) didn't need the help.

We took some of their squeaky, dirty subways to Manhattan; then some of the sweet new subways (made with love in Qu�bec) to see Rent at the Nederlander theatre, which was a beautiful show. We went to my old buddy K's place in Chelsea and ate at an awesome Afghani restaurant. Later, Laura and I walked the neighbourhood and ended up at the Barnes and Noble at Union Square, where I failed to buy a really cool scriptwriting magazine. We made love in a bed so large it made her look as small as an atom, and I made the happy discovery that I am at home in her arms wherever we are: my flat, her place, or a stinky Parisian hostel.

I also survived Thanksgiving supper in Laura's furnitureless house with her parents, and kinda like them to boot. They seemed to like me too, but I don't know how well they lie. I got the impression Laura'd already been grilled so I wasn't *too* much of a shock. Oh: apparently, I'm their first Canadian (!).

It was a good, good week-end. I finally got to see where Laura lives, and I guess it sort of fleshes out a part of her that had always been nebulous to me: I could never picture her at home because I never knew where 'home' was or what it looked like. It just adds a bit to be able to see her room and ther computer desk when I'm wondering how she's doing when it's too late to call her.

Heh. And now here I am: returned to my stupid little life and wishing I'd just stayed for a few more hours because, though I never really liked NYC before, I love it with her there.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005