09.26.2001 || 12h16

The Queen's got a cellphone!

Youz guys are all silly. I *applied* for a new job, not *got* one. Sheesh! I just did the math, and every *single* time someone's been put on probations here, they've lost their job. It's almost as though they use probation as a means of covering their own arses or something. Ergo, to cover mine as well, I applied for a new job. If I get it, allayaz will be the second to know, right after Mystie (who, by the way, got a new job, so go over and congratulate her right now).

Anyway, it looks like Canada's military spending has reduced our aggression capabilities to the point where we'd be flipping useless in Anghanistan, so I'm breathing a bit easier to-day. Hell, we're behind Belgium, fer gossakes. The military-minded out there will doubtless weep at this, pining for the days when we did things like Vimy Ridge or strike fear into the infidel, but I have *no* problems with us being reduced to peacekeeper and disaster-relief capabilities. Believe me. Afghanistan looms to large for me to think any other way.

Um, I have a few questions about some of the stuff the Feds are doing next, though...

**********

Holy Hannah! Her Highness has a mobile! Damn, I think the Earth just shook...

**********

So, I have no problem with GM hugely cutting back on the production of Firebirds and Camaros. To me, they're just big, guzzly American muscle-cars. Good riddance ugly toys, good riddance. The market for them is drying up, so GM is acting in accordance with good business practice by de-prioritising them.

One problem: GM is closing the plant over in Ste-Ther�se that manufactures them, and has already closed a Firebird and Camaro plant in Ontario. There are a tonne of GM Canada workers out of jobs or losing their positions, many of whom don't have the 30 years required for a full pention.

When BMW was forbidden from making aircraft engines after the trouncing of Germany lo those many years ago, they changed their factories over to make cars instead, alunching what was to become the ultimate yuppiemobile. Now, my question is this: Where is it written that companies on *this* side of the Atlantic should never show that kind of intelligence? Why is it that factories owned by *our* BIg Business must be closed and people must be put out on the street? I think it's related to the reason we have no electric cars, labour-friendly government, or ecological policies to speak of: North America is a great big culture of Stupid.

**********

I spoke for a long time with the Soprano yesternight, just to see if she was doing well and everything. By the end of the convo, I was really angry at Sister because she'd pulled the same crap on the Soprano as she used to on her various boys. Reminded me of a case back in Vancouver, where she'd gone out with a certain piano player for a while, made sure he *adored* her, then tossed him aside. He was a mess for a while after that, but eventually pulled himself up again. Da and WSM hired him to play piano for their Christmas party, and throughout the party, Sister was playing kitten for him; sitting on his lap and purring at him until he didn't know whether he was coming or going. When the piano player finally left, he was a wreck again.

That is the way Sister used to play it, time and again. I thought things were different after she'd spent such a long time voluntarily single. I thoiugh she was growing up or something.

But she still doesn't feel anything at all. She just goes through the motions.



||Gods save the Queen,
||cf

back || forth

older shite

One last little note... - 09.21.2006

de-stressing, biking and terrorism - 06.06.2006

Mildly stressed... - 05.29.2006

More crime stupidity - 05.28.2006

Scary stuff - 05.25.2006



diaryland.com
Oh yeah, the page and everything
on it is �2000 - 2005 to me, alright ?
don't copy without asking.

Original �reation 2005